[TECH] Alright, these popups are getting REALLY annoying.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by jedi_master_ousley, Jun 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Ok, this is getting annoying. I have a popup blocker on my computer, and they're still coming through. Last night I ran both SpyBot and Ad-Aware before going to sleep, and got rid of about 40 new items (just since the day before). This morning I get online, login here and at another message board, and the first link I click here gives me a popup.

    At first, I thought "well, my computer is a piece of crap, maybe its just me." But nope, I just asked a few people on AIM if they're getting popups, and they are. And they have popup blockers too.

    Raven, Kimball, etc, I know that you all can't change the ads--but it would be nice if someone in charge could pass along this info to Josh/Phil and/or IGN (since they provide the ads). I can handle the banner ads, but when popups start showing up on every other page, there's a problem.

    Edit: I just got another popup on the message posted screen...kinda ironic. :p
  2. yodahs-daddy Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 20, 2002
    star 5
    Alright, these popups are getting REALLY annoying.


    I Concur.
  3. Rogue...Jedi Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 12, 2000
    star 7
    Agreed, banner ads are fine, but popups are really annoying.
  4. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    Can someone give a screenshot of the popup, so we know what ad it's serving?

    ¤Night
  5. ObiWan506 Former Head Admin

    Member Since:
    Aug 5, 2003
    star 7
    Hmmm...I have AOL 9.0 with Spyware Protection and Blocked Pop-ups...I don't have that problem.

    What browser are you using JMO?
  6. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Screenshot 1


    Edit: Forgot to mention: I'm using internet explorer.
  7. Everton Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2003
    star 10
    Well I just have IE6 and Google Pop-Up blocker on and I haven't have a pop-up for months.
  8. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Well I just have IE6 and Google Pop-Up blocker on and I haven't have a pop-up for months. [/i]

    That's what I have. ;)
  9. Darth-Bradius Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 20, 2004
    star 5
    yeah get the google toolbar it stops all pop-ups
  10. Darth Dark Helmet Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 1999
    star 6
    I get little to no pop-ups on the JC. And what few I do are usually caught by my pop-up blocker.
  11. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    Try using Mozilla. It works well.
  12. ObiWan506 Former Head Admin

    Member Since:
    Aug 5, 2003
    star 7
    The problem with the Google Toolbar is that it adds a whole bunch of spyware, doesn't it?
  13. malkieD2 Ex-Manager and RSA

    Member Since:
    Jun 7, 2002
    star 7
    I'm on IE6 with Norton Internet Security and I don't get any pop-ups............ever.
  14. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    Google toolbar doesn't put in spyware. You can disable the reporting habits of the toolbar, if you like during installation.

    ¤Night
  15. RogueScribner Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 17, 2004
    star 4
    IE6 with PopUpCop and I only see the pop ups I wish to. Which aren't many. ;)

    L8r
  16. Raven Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Oct 5, 1998
    star 6
    I use IE with the google bar and the google spyware disabled, and I use Mozilla Firefox with the anti-ad software. On Firefox, nothing gets through.
  17. surlygirlie Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2000
    star 4
    I'm also using Mozilla Firefox and haven't seen a single pop-up.


  18. Errant_Venture Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Feb 21, 2002
    star 6
    I'm using IE and no pop-up blockers and I'm not getting anything...
  19. Sara_Kenobi Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 7
    I'm on netscape 7.0 and I'm not seeing any ads so far. I have no blockers, either. :)
  20. Spike_Spiegel Former FF Administrator Former Saga Mod

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2002
    star 6
    I also use Netscape and get no popups. At school I use IE and there seems to be no popups but I dunno if they are using any kind of popup blocker thingy.
  21. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
    IE6 with Earthlink popup blocker, no popups.
  22. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    I have Firefox but never use it, because my computer is really old and Firefox slows it down. :(

    Anyway, here's another screenshot of a different popup: Screenshot 2

    Even with the popup blocker, these get through. And the JC is the only site that I get them at.
  23. gabe Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 8, 1998
    star 6
    I havn't gotten a popup while surfing the JC in over half a year.
  24. Garth Maul Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    May 18, 2002
    star 6
    I'm using Opera, which has a pop-up blocker.

    But I've never seen a pop-up for the JC even when I use IE without any other protection.
  25. Semblance Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2003
    star 4
    Anyone else getting this popup?

    [image=http://img38.exs.cx/img38/8295/pop1.gif]

    My popup blocker is not killing this one.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.