main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

[TECH] copy and paste error

Discussion in 'Communications' started by snap-hiss, Sep 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snap-hiss

    snap-hiss Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 23, 2001
    I'm noticeing when I try to copy something someone says then reply, when I paste it into the reply field I get something totally crazy. This might be an old issue, but I've been gone for awhile. Here is an example of something I just got...

    http://master.mx-targeting.com/mx/servlet/MXTarget?adcontext=http://boards.theforce.net/post.asp?brd%3D10006%26topic%3D17026495&contextpeak=16943&contextcount=16943&countrycodein=US&lastAdTime=1096314018|1096239367|1096302003|1095206530|1095809317|0|0|0|0|&lastAdCode=1&cookie1=capdate%3D2715%26capdatedy%3D0927%26lupgtry%3D1%26lupgid%3D173%26lupgdt%3D1095506639189%26lflshdt%3D1083149528%26lstkywd%3Dasian+"gar%26lstlogdt%3D20040927%26cntp%3Dcable


    !snap
     
  2. Pellaeon-Firke

    Pellaeon-Firke Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Mar 2, 2004
    I get that occasionally as well. The thing I do is just re-copy and re-paste. Takes more time, but it's always worked the second time for me.
     
  3. PatttyB0123

    PatttyB0123 RSA Latin America star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Apr 2, 2003
    I got the same thing two weeks ago. I think that is a virus? because my PC showed a virus warning that was hiding in one of the adds. I cleaned my PC and the problem was over.

    If you have a XP down load the lates security system for the XP computers that right now is free. Hopes tha you can solve your problem.
     
  4. snap-hiss

    snap-hiss Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Yes, it works after the second try for me also, but it's really annoying, and it only happens on this site.


    !snap
     
  5. Rise_Of_Thrawn

    Rise_Of_Thrawn Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Definitely some sort of spyware... noticing the "targeting" and "adcontext" in the link.
     
  6. PatttyB0123

    PatttyB0123 RSA Latin America star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Also there is another problem. If you let the thing keep going in your PC later you will not able to post anything or little because you are going to see an error message any times you reply to a post. I think that thing affected my replys too.

    Better get the free security system. ;)
     
  7. Raven

    Raven Administrator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Oct 5, 1998
    Now that's interesting.

    The best solution is to get Firefox with adblock. [face_mischief]
     
  8. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    looking at that URL, you've got a ad-server trojan. I went to the mx-marketing.com website and it says;

    If you want to uninstall, you can do so easily through the add/remove function in your control panel. You can access your control panel by going to:

    1. Start (typically, the button in the bottom left of your screen)
    2. Choose SETTINGS
    3. Choose CONTROL PANEL
    4. Choose ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS
    5. Select MX-Targeting
    6. Click on ADD/REMOVE





     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.