Tech Help.

Discussion in 'Games' started by AlienAcid, Jul 12, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    I am here for your gaming help need.

    Pm, Icq, email, aim, msn.


    And other computer help need :D

  2. barnsthefatjedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2001
    star 5
    Awww, I can see that halo shining above your head, AA. :p

    Well, being the Computer Cretin, I will probably call upon you on a regular basis. Still can't get my stupid logo to work :mad:
  3. SithForceLord Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 2, 2001
    star 6
    AA - thanks for that!

    ummmm u may be able to give me and jp-30 a helping hand in extracting the ewok skin outta that skin pack (not saying jp-30 cant do it but it seems complecated)
  4. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    Ya I can do software stuff.

    and barns email me the pic i will make you a wad.(ITS A FILE TYPE)

  5. Jedi Bib Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2000
    star 6
    Hey! No fair!! You are MY techy, you mutinous swine!


    That's easy, I can do that.
  6. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    hehe ya even bib can ;)
  7. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Hey SFL - if I need help I'll ask for it thank-you-very-much!

    But while I'm here AA, My (& SFL's for that matter) total (I mean TOTAL) newbie father was asking me questions when he got his new PC recently. The hardest to answer was;

    "How do you know if you need to double click, single click or right click?"

    Over to you, Mr Techy...

  8. SithForceLord Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 2, 2001
    star 6
    lol - (i say try 1 click , if nothing works - do 2 clicks) sooooooorry!!!!!! sheeeeesh
  9. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    Need to double click?

    well explain to him that shortcuts need to be double clicked if you want them to do something, and this goes with most things on your computer.

    single click selects the item
    double click activates the item
    right click gives extra stuff to use for that environment/item.

    this is assuming you are running windows.

    if its mac ,well you have a bar of soap you press down =/
  10. barnsthefatjedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2001
    star 5
    OK, I'll email one tommorow. I'm sure there's something wrong with my computer. I've created the wads (I think) but it doesn't work. Still I'll see what Ghent here can do.
  11. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    I have made a ton.

    but PB can do really good art :D
  12. barnsthefatjedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2001
    star 5
    Oh, I can handle the making of the BMP, just getting it to work on CS that stumps me.

    I used to be a wizard with PhotoPlus4, but my dad uninstalled it :mad:
  13. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    just make it and send it :)
  14. DUM4 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2000
    star 4
    When I saw this thread, I thought 'Now why would AA be asking for Tech Help?' :)
  15. Dan Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 1999
    star 6
    I don't need to no tech help!
  16. jebadia Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2001
    star 4
    AlienAcid,
    Pretty soon here I am going to be building a new computer. I have about a grand to blow, would it be alright to call upon your services? I found a local wholesaler where I can get inexpensive parts. What are some reccomendations you have about what components I should get?
    Thanks
    -Jebadia-
  17. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
  18. Jedi Bib Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2000
    star 6
    Why do you people allow your parents to use your computer?
  19. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    I know Bibby, I dont understand it at all.
  20. jebadia Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2001
    star 4
    Ok AA I am FINALLY ready to build my new computer, so I need some advise of what to get. I have a vid card (voodoo3 2000) I know it ain't much but it will do for now. what I need is:
    monitior
    motherboard
    CPU
    memory
    sound card
    cd burner
    Windows and MS Office
    joystick

    I am willing to throw down the most cash on getting a fast/good CPU and motherboard, I want those to be really good and last a while.

    Is their anything else that you can think of?

    So what do you reccomend? This humble novice seeks your advice.
    -Jebadia-
  21. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    damn ask at the worst time lol... my brain is still medicated so I really am sorry =(


    but right now amd is good =) and ddr ram is cheap, so basicaly a good stable amd board with ddr ram and a fast processor will kick ass =)

    and um office... hhhehe got cable i think i can find it for ya ;)
  22. jebadia Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2001
    star 4
    Sorry I for got you are still recovering from sugery (welcome back By the way). Thanks for the advice I shall put it to good use. I have cable too so I think this could work out well.
    Thanks
    -Jebadia-
  23. AlienAcid Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2000
    star 6
    i got some good stufff =)


    what os you gonna go with?
  24. jebadia Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2001
    star 4
    I'm not sure. I heard that win 2000 is still a little buggy, maybe I'll jsut go with win 98 and wait till next summer to upgrade to win xp (it should have all the bugs worked out by then). What do you think?
    -Jebadia-
  25. Dan Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 1999
    star 6
    Win2k all the way for me. I'm never going back to 98 again. As for bugs... you'll find more in 98 SE than you will in 2k. As for compatibility issues, they aren't bad. Talk about being blown out of propotions, hehe. Games run fine on it. Only problem as far as I know has been Max Payne (when couple with Win2k and a GeForce 3, especially with an Athlon), and that bug was fixed in about 36 hours. Anyway, AA told me to get Win2k, I'm glad he did.

    For your CPU, go with AMD. I'd say a 1.2GHz Palomino which supposedly doesn't need as much cooling by 20% or so (don't trust it though, hehe, cool it as much as every other processor). Or the 1.4 GHz T-Bird is good.

    For memory, you can get 256MB PC2100 DDR ram for less than $50 at Crucial.com.

    Sound card, I like SB Live! series. The X-Gamer 5.1 card comes with Unreal Tournament, Thief 2, MDK2, and Deus Ex, if you don't have those already. For about $75-$80.

    Burner, plextor came out with a new 24x burner, and so has TDK. Persoanlly, I don't think the price jump is worth it. I recently bought a 16/10/40 burner from Yamaha, and it's great. I'd say Yamaha or Plextor.

    For joysticks, I like the MS precision pro 2 without FF. $40-$50.

    The monitor is pretty much your decision.

    You should probably ask someone else about motherboards, hehe. But I'd get Abit or Asus.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.