[TECH] Splinter Cell

Discussion in 'Communications' started by outrider462004, Mar 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. outrider462004 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2004
    star 4
    I am haveing a problem with and advertisment. Splinter Cell advertisment seems to be slowing my window way, way, way, way down. Sometimes it frezes up the window. I would love to have it removed if possible
  2. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    You seek FireFox, I'd say.
  3. outrider462004 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2004
    star 4
    Well its just that one. I'm not haveing any other problems
  4. BobTheGoon Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 6
    Well, even so, its a good excuse to switch to Firefox
  5. outrider462004 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2004
    star 4
    Can u tell me more about FireFox
  6. beezel26 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2003
    star 7
    http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/).
  7. BobTheGoon Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 6
    [image=http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/trust.gif]
    Get Firefox

    /no HTML skillz :(
  8. milney Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 21, 2003
    star 5
    You also have to be at 'Manager' level before you can use HTML bob.
  9. BobTheGoon Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 6
    milney posted on 3/28/05 9:28pm

    />

    :_| />/>
  10. -Lord-Vader- Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2003
    star 5
  11. dooku-ca-choo Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 5, 2004
    star 2
    Those animated ads are the reason I got the adblocker extension for FireFox. You can specify which ads you want to block or use wildcards to do mass blocking. It's easy and fun. :)
  12. TwiLekJedi Pretty Ex-Mod

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2001
    star 10
    pff, get a better computer

    sometimes I sit here and watch that ad for minutes!
  13. DarthSapient Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2001
    star 10
    <img src=http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/trust.gif> [face_whistling]


    [face_mischief]
  14. outrider462004 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2004
    star 4
    "pff, get a better computer"

    Uh dude. Not possible. It would take a miricle for that to happen to me.
  15. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
  16. jedi_panther_fan Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2004
    star 4
    After having some snafus with the newest 1.0.2 update, I'm still lovin' it
    Firefox...[image=http://www.friedmanarchives.com/China/Page1/images/4%20Thumbs%20Up.jpg]
  17. malkieD2 Ex-Manager and RSA

    Member Since:
    Jun 7, 2002
    star 7
    Install the Flashblock extension (it's 30k) which replaces embedded Flash animations/adverts with a clickable 'reveal' button.
  18. Everton Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2003
    star 10
    Bonanza!

    *goes to find flashblock* :D
  19. SoloCommand Manager Emeritus & GTA Coruscant Developer

    Member Since:
    Jun 15, 2001
    star 5
    Flash ads cause no-end of annoyance, and damn, they're even worse when you're using Tabbed browsing. Slow everything down to buggery.
    I'll be glad to be rid of them when we move into Independant-ville.
  20. eequo Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2004
    star 3
    Yeah, get firefox and delete that other internet crap you must be using.
  21. Knight_Dilettante Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 24, 2002
    star 4
    My deepest thanks to outrider462004 for posting the initial question and to those who identified the root problem and for suggested adblocker/flashblocker. I was wondering what was causing the problem I was seeing. I had tracked it down to probably due to an ad and was suspecting Splinter Cell but that was as far as I was able to get.

    Thanks!

    runs off to get flashblocker

    KD
  22. outrider462004 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 31, 2004
    star 4
    ALRIGHT! ALRIGHT! I got fire fox.
  23. ObiWan506 Former Head Admin

    Member Since:
    Aug 5, 2003
    star 7
    milney posted on 3/28/05 9:28pm

    />
    Bob, you noob! [face_clown]

    Sape included a link to Flashblock from Firefox in his last update. Like the other Users have said, download that and you will have no more problems./>/>/>
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.