[Tech] Spyware DownLoad on TF.N ?

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Wes_Janson, Jun 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
    [image=http://home.earthlink.net/~mhs7603/add.gif]

    Im running the spybod S&D resident which blocks the install of spyware quite often.

    I got a warning in comms a min ago. If I hadnt had it, whatever the software is would have downloaded without letting me know even. With the resident, I was able to stop the DL.
  2. Smuggler-of-Mos-Espa Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jan 23, 2002
    star 6
    It's all part of TFN's ad partners. You should expect something like this every now and then.
  3. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Its also quite annoying that I just did a file search for "ign network" and found over 800 items in my temporary internet files folder.

    Heh.
  4. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
    That's what Spybot S&D resident is for, it keeps much of it from DLing.
  5. Kyle Katarn Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 1998
    star 6
    Usually that would indicate that Spybot S&D blocked the download of a cookie rather than an actual spyware app. Spybot S&D's resident client is a tad, paranoid, when it comes to things like cookies and whatnot.

    Best advice would be to use something other than IE, preferably Opera or one of the other Mozilla based browsers which tell you when something is trying to download itself. Use those and close the Spybot S&D resident client and you can save yourself some system resources.
  6. Strilo Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Aug 6, 2001
    star 8
    Spyware? What's that?


    *pets the powerbook*

  7. Kyle Katarn Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 1998
    star 6
    Don't get too cozy with yer powerook, word has it that there may already be some spyware out which is geared specifically for Macs. Only sure fire defense is vigilence.
  8. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
    I tried Mozilla, it was as annoying as hell.
    It reassigned numerous file types to mozilla, and other similar problems.

    And if it wasnt my defualt browser, it wouldnt work at all.......
  9. Kyle Katarn Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 1998
    star 6
    There are other browsers out there, Mozilla ain't the only one.

    That said, the Dept. of Homeland Security has advised switching to a browser other than IE. The Washington Post had an article about said release which states some of the reasoning behind CERT's advisory.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A6746-2004Jun25.html
  10. Joshua Griffin TheForce.Net co-owner

    VIP
    Member Since:
    May 12, 1999
    star 4
    This has been removed from rotation ... so if anyone does find it again, please let us know. NOT something we want or ahve agreed to on TFN. Like pop-ups, too.

    Josh
  11. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
  12. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
  13. Wylding Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 13, 2000
    star 5
    Thank you to whoever it was that killed the popup monster...

    There's no surer way to anger your potential clientel than to install unwanted software on their comp...
  14. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
    Heres a possible idea to get rid of the spyware/popups for good.



    Rather than use ad's that IGN chooses, have them send the image files of the ads to Raven or some admin, who uploads it to TF.N, and puts them on a rotating bassis on the boards.

    That way, nothing but ads, instead of spyware.

    (and if the adds are all in the same directory, users can easily block them.)
  15. Falcon Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2002
    star 8
    Thanks Josh much appreciated :)
  16. BobTheGoon Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 6
    Rather than use ad's that IGN chooses, have them send the image files of the ads to Raven or some admin, who uploads it to TF.N, and puts them on a rotating bassis on the boards.

    That way, nothing but ads, instead of spyware.


    There are more to banner ads than simple images. The is quite a bit of coding involved, hich TF.N has little control over.

    (and if the adds are all in the same directory, users can easily block them.)

    Which I'm sure IGN would want to prevent, since it negates the point of banner ads.

    Just get Firefox and get the adblocker extension. I haven't seen a banner ad or a popup for ages on these boards.
  17. xie Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 5
    Spyware? What's that?


    *pets the powerbook*


    Games? What's that?


    *pets windows*

    It had to be done.
  18. lomion Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 22, 2004
    star 3
    Spyware? What's that?


    *pets the powerbook*

    Games? What's that?


    *pets windows*


    Funny, I have all the games I want on my powerbook. Namely The Sims, Halo, NWN. But it comes down to what you do with your computer. I am not a big gamer, and if all you want to do is play games then windows is probably better anyway.
  19. BobTheGoon Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 6
    if you want to play current, popular games then windows is the only way to go.

    Fixed it :D
  20. Wes_Janson Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2004
    star 5
    Well, I switched to firefox to give it a shot.

    No adds +
    runs slow -




    all in all, not much of an improvement.
  21. kenwastinger Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 29, 2004
    star 5
    Are these the reg keys that get modified?

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-507921405-789336058-1060284298-1004\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-20\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-19\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

    DSO Exploit: Data source object exploit (Registry change, nothing done)
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\0\1004!=W=3

  22. jacemathem Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2003
    star 5
    Woah... I was clicking around the forums, and upon hitting the back button to go to the forum menu, the browser instead went to the following link trying to get me to download spyware software:

    http://download.spywarespykiller.com/spyware6/
  23. Kyle Katarn Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 1998
    star 6
    If your browser is redirecting you, then it's more than likely that you have spyware on your system. If you have a choice, don't download or install anything which is hawked by a popup ad, browser re-direct, or anything else of that sort. It's best you get spyware removal software through a site which has legitimate links to spyware removal tools.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.