[TECH] Trogan on the loose!

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Gannon-Traz, Sep 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. Gannon-Traz Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 2, 2004
    star 1
    Um, everytime I come to the main forum page, I get a Trogan, and a script put on my computer. Just hoping that this gets fixed.

    Also those of you that don't have a virus protection. Get one. The net is flowing with viruses more and more everyday, and your getting them all...


    So get some protection.
    McAfee is my favorite software.
  2. zacparis VIP

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2003
    star 7
    Thanks for the tip...

    btw, do you mean Trojan?
  3. Smuggler-of-Mos-Espa Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jan 23, 2002
    star 6
    I've never had this problem. Maybe it should be in the thread by Gandolf.
  4. Raven Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Oct 5, 1998
    star 6
    Are you sure it's us? And can you post as much information as you can about this trojan?
  5. Gannon-Traz Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 2, 2004
    star 1
    Well I just went back, and I didn't get it so I guess its fixed. That means I can't get its name or anything... Oh well, and yeah I meant Trojan, but I have a friend on Xbox LIVE who's nmae is Trogan Man, and I mixed them up... sorry
  6. malkieD2 Ex-Manager and RSA

    Member Since:
    Jun 7, 2002
    star 7
    dude, its you, not us :)
  7. Gannon-Traz Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 2, 2004
    star 1
    Like I said, it's gone now, and there is nothing wrong with my PC, so don't start that. I was pointing this out so, if anyone could, fix it.
  8. malkieD2 Ex-Manager and RSA

    Member Since:
    Jun 7, 2002
    star 7
    and there is nothing wrong with my PC

    The usual line by someone infected with spyware ;)
  9. Gannon-Traz Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 2, 2004
    star 1
    You may bhe right but it only started this morning, just trying to help...








    lol
  10. Stridarious Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2002
    star 6
    I contracted the virus myself a few moments ago. I too have an anti-virus program, and I am now conducting a full out quarantine of my current computers hardrives ;) .

    I know one thing for certian, it is not by this forum that I contracted this virus. But rather, perhaps from AOL's IM system... :(

    I can provide one piece of information about this virus. It is presently hiding within this following location in my computer Windows Driver: C:\windows\desktop\06wu29rd.exe

    I am not sure what else it has done to my computer. However, will find out soon enough, and will keep you informed :) .
  11. Raven Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Oct 5, 1998
    star 6
    What's the process name?
  12. Siths_Revenge Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2004
    star 7
    I got a Trojan warning on here yesterday, but I don't see it here anymore.
  13. Gannon-Traz Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 2, 2004
    star 1
    Me neither, I think this post scared it off...
  14. -Lord-Vader- Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2003
    star 5
  15. Stridarious Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2002
    star 6
    Raven: "What's the process name?"

    Well, the name it appeared under was: Trojan.Dropper.Small.GT. It was deleted from my files yestrday after my computer was scanned and all viruses downloaded deleted ;) .
  16. Falcon Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2002
    star 9
    shakes head, thanks for the info. I have a firewall and a pop up add blocker in place but theres times they do slip through on occasion.

    I'll check my harddrive when I get home.

    AOL seems to have its share of viruses, so does the yahoo pop up add blocker, I really had problems with them in the past three viruses and a war horse in two months.

  17. ObiWan506 Former Head Admin

    Member Since:
    Aug 5, 2003
    star 7
    Since we're on the subject ...

    I am on my Office Computer right now and this computer doesn't have an AntiVirus Program. I tried installing my Norton Antivirus on it but it wouldn't work. Anyone know where I can get a Free Trial Anti-Virus Program until I can get my Norton to work right on this computer?
  18. Gannon-Traz Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 2, 2004
    star 1
    Try McAfee

    I'm pretty sure it has a trial, but I have the registered version. Plus it's not very expensive, and I think its better than Norton anyday...

  19. SecondBest Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jan 5, 2003
    star 6
    Trojans suck! They shouldn't be ranked number 1!
  20. Lord_Fett Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 14, 2002
    star 4
    Trojan's are bad, mmmkay?

    Here's Lord Fett's guide to protect your PC: get a good anti-virus (Norton is my favourite), get a good firewall (Windows'firewall is ****; I have Outpost Firewall (freeware), but Norton's Firewall is good too) and get a spyware/adware protection porgram (mine is Ad-aware (freeware)).
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.