JCC [Technology and Stuff] The Tech Help Thread

Discussion in 'Community' started by Quixotic-Sith, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. Quixotic-Sith Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 22, 2001
    star 6
    I did a quick search and nothing popped up, so maybe it's time for a new technical help thread.

    Here's what's currently baffling me:



    How is it possible for my laptop battery (which I bought last week) to be *draining* when it is plugged in and indicates that it is *charging* (the replacement battery is the identical model that came with my laptop)? The laptop itself is older than dirt (Gateway, bought in 2004/5), and I replaced the power supply (currently using a Targus APA01) in 2009.

    Do I need a new power supply? This laptop only needs to last through the end of the academic year (May of 2013).
  2. Ghost Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Oct 13, 2003
    star 6
    Does the power cord fit into the computer alright, or does it seem loose when it's plugged in?
  3. Quixotic-Sith Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 22, 2001
    star 6
    I'm suspecting the power cord - it fits, but after talking with the resident campus Alpha Geek, there's the question of whether there is sufficient amperage coming from the power source (the entire cord/box/cord unit). Since the replacement is nearly four years old (and may be fluctuating, since there have been times when it is hot to the touch), my first inclination is to replace it. Related to this, I pulled the battery and tried to run the laptop only using AC power, and it died after a few seconds.
  4. Ghost Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Oct 13, 2003
    star 6
    Yeah, definitely sounds like a power cord problem, which shouldn't be that expensive, maybe $40. Probably the "box" was damaged, either by overheating or just banging it around, or the actual wires themselves got frayed (that happened to me). You might want to invest in buying yourself a laptop cooler for Christmas too, if you haven't already.
  5. KissMeImARebel Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 25, 2003
    star 4
    JCC,

    I need to make my laptop region free. Please assist.
  6. Bender666 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 30, 2012
    star 2
    You mean the DVD drive? You'd have to flash the firmware of the DVD drive.
  7. KissMeImARebel Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 25, 2003
    star 4
    yeah, i'm a little concerned about that since i'm not particuarly technical minded.
  8. Bender666 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 30, 2012
    star 2
    You would have to find a region free firmware for your drive. What's the brand\model?
  9. KissMeImARebel Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 25, 2003
    star 4
    actually i think i may have found a way around it. thanks though!
  10. Bender666 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 30, 2012
    star 2