main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

'The Music of Star Wars' - Potential Book

Discussion in 'Star Wars And Film Music' started by TheMusicOfStarWars, Apr 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMusicOfStarWars

TheMusicOfStarWars Jedi Youngling

Apr 23, 2009
    Hi all,

Let me introduce myself. My name is Matt Lawson. I'm a soon-to-be postgraduate music student at the University of Liverpool in England. I will be specializing in film music under one of the leading world film music scholars.

Now that I am on the path to becoming a film music scholar myself, I thought about options which would really propel me onto the market so to speak.

I've been a massive Star Wars fan since the age of 10, so I have 11 years of the brilliant John Williams soundtracks playing in my mind.

I am asking you good Star Wars fans out there whether you'd be interested in a book all about the music. It would include musicological analyses but would not be bogged down in purely academic research.

I have set up a website at The Music of Star Wars.

There's not a lot on there yet, but that's where all the latest news will be posted.

What d'ya think guys? Is this something you'd be interested in?

2. Cerrabore

Cerrabore Jedi Master star 4

Jan 17, 2004
    That's certainly ambitious. Doug Adams is actually working on a book about the Lord of the Rings scores by Howard Shore, so there just may be a market for such works. I know there are a number of serious theses on this subject by music students. The Wikipedia article is a nice springboard for research, but I certainly wouldn't vouch for its accuracy. Check the section on Dies Irae, though (my addition). Nobody else seems to catch that component of the scores.

3. TheMusicOfStarWars

Apr 23, 2009
    I attended Doug Adams' pre concert talk in London last week. He has certainly been an inspiration.