1. Welcome back everyone! Wondering why everything looks different? Please visit HERE for more information!
  2. Welcome Guest. New feature: The Art of Disney…Now discussing:

Art Archive The *OFFICIAL* Lightsaber Tutorial Thread.

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Rox, Mar 5, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: Corellian_Outrider
  1. Rox Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2000
    star 6
    Since we get thread after thread on how to make lightsabers I thought I would make an official list of tutorials on how to make lightsaber effects. If you know of an effect tutorial post it's location here in this thread. Any threads from this point on on how to make lightsabers will be considered Spam and deleted.


    TF.N Tutorial's
    ? Creating Lightsaber Blades in Adobe Photoshop 5.5
    ? Creating Lightsaber FX in Paint Shop Pro
    ? How to get real looking saber colors.
    ? Rotoscoping Lightsabers in Adobe Premiere.

    Fan Film FX
    ? Saber Tutorial - Video

    AlamDV
    ? Special FX Making Software

    If you find a new tutorial for the list leave the name of the site it's from and a link to the tutorial.
  2. TheDarth Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2001
    star 4
    Or you can get a program that does the effect automaticly here
  3. Macho Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2001
    star 4
    it[alamdv] doesn't excatly do it by itself, and the sabers look right, plus its compression is horrible!
  4. Rox Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2000
    star 6
    I just wouldn't feel right if I didn't make the lightsaber myself, an automated process is just so uncreative.
  5. Cheveyo Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 29, 2001
    star 5
    Can you say, "Cookie cut-out"? ;)
  6. DarkLordofSmith Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Feb 27, 2001
    star 2
    I've had good feedback on my PSP lightsaber tutorial, though it's still yet to be tested on a film strip.

    I hope to change that soon.
  7. MasterYodaSkywalker Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2001
    star 3
    AlamDV doesn't give you as much control over the lightsaber as you would if you did it in Photoshop (the prog I use).

    At first, I thought AlamDV was a really neat program, but then I started seeing that better lightsabers could be create w/o Alam.

    The lightsaber competition they had in the Fan Films forum helped me decide...

    -MYS
  8. jedi-mind-trick VIP

    Member Since:
    Jul 6, 2001
    star 5
  9. Rox Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2000
    star 6
  10. Obi_Wan_01 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 17, 2001
    star 5
  11. Otis_Frampton LFL Artist, Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2001
    star 4
  12. chucks888 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Wow! Insanely cool (god i'm a geek). Just wanted to say thanks for the info.

    -Chuck
  13. Otis_Frampton LFL Artist, Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2001
    star 4
    Thanks.

    I used the tutorial for the first time on my Weekly Fan Art image. I'll definitely be using this technique in the future for my lightsaber images.

    My old method, while creating similar and effective results was much more time consuming.

    I'm all for "quick and dirty".

    Uh-oh . . . um, I didn't mean it like that.

    [face_laugh]

    -Otis
  14. Jabachile Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2001
    star 4
    I have a 5-step way of doing it. I don't usually do it this simple, but it's good for starters:

    1) On a new layer, draw a white line where you want the saber with the "line tool". Make a little bit thicker than you want it to be for now.

    2) Round the edges accordingly.

    3) Go to "Filter", "Blur", and select "Gaussian Blur". Adjust accordingly.

    4) Go to "Layer", "Effects", and select "Outer glow".

    5) Adjust opacity, blur, intensity, and color accordingly.
  15. Kenobi217 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2002
    star 4
    Ok, I have a small problem that maybe some of you experts can help me with.

    See, I can create the saber all good and well, but I'm trying to get the glow effect, and it's not working out. When I try to make the shape on the new layer, it makes two things; Another layer named "Layer 1," and something named "Shape 1," so I can't edit the white line on top of my saber and the layer itself in one thing.

    Can anyone help? If I'm confusing you, I'll take a screenshot to give you a better idea of my problem.
  16. Rox Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2000
    star 6
    right click on the shape layer and rasterize it. You should be ok from there.
  17. Jabachile Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2001
    star 4
    I have no idea what you're talking about!
  18. Rox Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2000
    star 6
    I was answering Kenobi. When you make a shape in the newer versions of photoshop it creates a thing called a shape layer, sort of like a mask. You have to rarterize the layer in order to edit it.
  19. Jabachile Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2001
    star 4
    That's why I like my 'ol 5.5. Complex, yet simple enough ;)
  20. obihansolo Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 16, 2002
    i have a couple of questions?

    ok i make the lightsaber but do i attach something as a blade to it? or is there some program i use just to pretend there is a blade, or do you use a blade and then put a glow on top of it?

    Also lets say i use a blade and put a glow over it, do i need to animate this glow in every scene or is there a way that the glow effect can follow the blade?

    And one last question is what program can i use to do this that is inexpensive for im thinking of using it for a fanfilm but not like a all out special effects thing. Also can you refer me to a program that includes the animation to blade effect and one that allows you to make backdrops?

    Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!11
  21. Kenobi217 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2002
    star 4
    Ok Rox, but now I have two things; A layer with a neutral color, and another layer called "Shape 1." How do I remedy this?
  22. Kenobi217 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2002
    star 4
  23. Rox Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 24, 2000
    star 6
    kenobi can you send me the file? vattimo@vlattimo.com
  24. Kenobi217 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2002
    star 4
    Ok, I sent a screenie of my problem Rox...I hope you can fix it :D
  25. Arfour_Peeseventeen Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2002
    star 4
Moderators: Corellian_Outrider
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.