The official Terragen question/discussion thread.

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Anonymous_Jedi, Jan 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: AdamBertocci
  1. Sputniko Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 22, 2000
    star 2
    As I said, I have tried everything...all settings are on the highest/best. Its not at all that simple! I havent forgot to slide a setting to the right...its much more serious than that.

    Need help!
  2. MasterYodaSkywalker Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2001
    star 3
    If possible, can you put a screenshot of what your renders look like? That may help some of us to remedy your problem.

    -MYS
  3. Sputniko Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 22, 2000
    star 2
    I will get a "new" computer tommorow, so I will try Terragen on that and see if the problems dissippear. I will return if the problem remains.
  4. Ptx Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2000
    star 4
    I have said before you can e-mail me your files and I will be happy to have a look.

    pete@ukwriters.net

    Pete
  5. MasterYodaSkywalker Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2001
    star 3
    Umm.. not that anyone cares, but I created a very (emphasis "very) basic Terragan tutorial that shows you the ropes in making a render. It's really for those who don't want to figure it out themselves. :D

    It's at my website in my signature.

    -MYS
  6. JediTAC Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 5
    I was just wondering if our good friend, and Master Terragen User, Ptx, (or anyonje else for that matter) has had a chance to create any additional tutorials getting the most out of Teragen.

    Of specific interest, I believe, would be:

    1. Creating a Terragen landscape for use in an animation (MAX, LW, EI, MAYA, etc.)

    2. Customizing your Terragen Landscape, for creation of canyons, ravines, valleys, volcanoes, etc.


    (Feel free to add to the list with any additional suggestions).



    Personally, importing a Teragen creation into MAX (for instance) is one of the things I want to knwo how to do -
    if it can be done at all, that is.





    JediTAC


  7. Anonymous_Jedi Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2001
    star 4
    TAC, it can be done, but not well. It'll import the terrain, but no textures, no water, nothing. What you do, is export the terrain to a LWO format from Terragen, then use a converter on it. However, everytime I tried it, it gave me a "Invalid file type" error, but that might be my converter.
  8. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    Where the flip is the Ter2Blend file? I cannot find it anywhere! :(

    ¤Night
  9. sqerl Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2002
    star 1
    Sputniko
    I get the same problem you do.. no matter how far right the sliders are, my renders all look about the same... all pixel-ly and jagged... (is pixelly a word? - well it is now.)

    I will try it on my home machine as opposed to my laptop here at work... will update after I see what happens.

    (and I'll send Pete as many files as he wants if it doesn't work!:D)
  10. EagleIFilms Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 5
    Shoot, Night, the site seems to be down.

    I wish there was something that could be done!

    :_|
  11. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    oops, i got it Eagle, RPG transfered it to me :) Thanks for checking though! :D

    ¤Night
Moderators: AdamBertocci
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.