The (Un)official 3D FX/Design Thread

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Ricky_Calrissian, May 27, 2010.

Moderators: AdamBertocci
  1. Vidina Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2006
    star 4
    Kinda depends. I have potential access to mocap equipment, but on the other hand, I've exported data from Endorphin as mocap data an imported successfully to bipeds in 3ds Max. not a hard process.
  2. Today_v4 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2008
    star 1
    Working on a cylon centurion
    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/subpatch%20cylon/cylon156.jpg]
  3. Teague Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2006
    star 4
    @Ricky Yeah, both. Why?
  4. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    Well, to be honest, I was working on a 3D LCC entry this year, and found animating frame by frame to not exactly be my strong suit. So I was thinking I'd undertake a bit of a learning experience, and try and do motion capture for it instead, and enter it next year. I started on one of the characters and had the set built, but I quickly ran out of time to get any further on it.

    Here was an early version of the set, the guy is just a UT3 model I threw in there with some glowing smoke to test out scale. Everything was modeled using realistic measurements, I just think the camera angle and DoF make him seem quite small and toyish. Loosely based off the Jedi Temple from the first TOR teaser trailer.
    [image=http://i332.photobucket.com/albums/m332/ra_elliott/floortest_40000000.jpg]
  5. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    Quick question: is there a way to COMBINE separate editable polys into one in 3DS? I'm trying to select the corner point of one square, to another poly's corner point...
  6. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    If I understand you correctly, you should be able to. I use Maya and it is possible, not sure how in 3DS Max though. What exactly are you trying to do?
  7. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    Well, I'm recreating a logo I made in Ae, and so I decided to trace it using a series of squares made into editable polys. So they are all aligned now, I just want to combine the points of each square to have one large editable poly.

    Edit: ... Nevermind. I'm an idiot. Shift+dragging edges from one poly to make the whole shape. DOI. I knew about that, but I haven't been in 3DS for a while doing modeling.
  8. Today_v4 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2008
    star 1
    And this weekend's random modeling project is done[face_thinking]
    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/subpatch%20cylon/cylons16.jpg]
  9. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    Nice! I like that a lot. I don't know much about Battlestar Galactica to comment a lot on it, but from what I remember it looks pretty good. I think with a z-depth pass on it it would look even better.
  10. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    [image=http://www.deviantart.com/download/176844482/3D_Foundations__Final_Project_by_brucem91.png]

    Here is the test render in Stereo of my Final Project for 3D Foundations at the Los Angeles Film School. I still have a few minor tweaks, and possibly a texture or two to create. But other than that, I am pretty much done. As this is my first 3D class(in my term, I've been using maya on a small scale for the past year), Brian didn't really require that much for the project. Matter of fact, I used a few things he didn't expect/go over, including normal maps, stereo rendering, and grass. I know there are quite a few more things I can do with the scene, but I am pretty happy with it, and it pretty much meets the requirements of the class just nicely.

    Maya 2010
    Photoshop CS5

    BruceM

    EDIT: Here is the non-stereo render:

    [image=http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/8217/test1080prender.png]
  11. Vidina Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2006
    star 4
    You could make them boolean operands.
  12. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    Nice Bruce. The convergence seems a bit off to me, something isn't lining up just right and its making white lines in certain spots. Are you using the Ae filter for it?

    I got bored and tried another test of my own, usually I do little conversions of trailers (Clash of the Titans, Tron Legacy, etc.) This? Is an asteroid. I'm gonna render this out once more, but do a slow-mo shot instead to really get the effect popping. Anyone have any Amber-blue glasses? It seems to give a better result than typical Red/blue...

    https://www.yousendit.com/download/aHlSZ296SEI4aU0wTVE9PQ

  13. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    Nope, it's the stereo camera in maya. Yes, I can believe that the inter-axial is off.
  14. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    IS there an easy way to render the same shot, one for each camera, automatically in 3ds?
  15. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    I believe so. The stereo camera is actually a 3 cam setup I believe. I only set anaglyph as that as the only way I can view stereoscopic currently, but I believe that I would have no problem rendering each eye.
  16. Today_v4 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2008
    star 1
    Not scifi at all, but here's my progress so far on the staten island ferry/ferry terminal..
    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/90-06-774878.jpg]

    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/south_ferry_sunset_by_todayv4-d2ykus1.jpg]

    ...mainly because I was bored:D
  17. Today_v4 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2008
    star 1
    And now for something completely different... and slightly farmiliar:D

    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/90-12-324650.jpg]
  18. Teague Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2006
    star 4
    Where's the Arclight? And the Jack in the Box?
  19. Today_v4 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2008
    star 1
    ok.. more 5th element stuff

    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/90-16-677878.jpg]
  20. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    In front and to the left, respectively.

    Anyway, here is the latest render from my WIP for model creation. We have to make a car this month. It will look like it isn't merged properly in the middle, and that is because it isn't. I quickly mirrored one half for the render.

    [image=http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs603.snc4/58324_437181696603_628676603_5716913_3786168_n.jpg]
  21. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    UPDATE:

    Here are the three final renders of my car for Model Creation:

    [image=http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/680/render1z.png]

    [image=http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/2679/render2g.png]

    [image=http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/1689/render3h.png]

    BruceM
  22. Today_v4 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2008
    star 1
    [image=http://i446.photobucket.com/albums/qq185/todayV4/viperwaiting-credits-2b-1.jpg]

    [face_thinking]
  23. Ricky_Calrissian Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    star 3
    whoa, nice! I really like the environment as well, it has that 80's sci-fi look I love so much.
  24. WormieSaber Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 22, 2000
    star 5
    The car looks great. I used Lightwave ages ago and remember it took a long time to render models. How long did it take for the car to render? The 3D effect is so apparent in animation to, I love it. You say you are using Maya, are you also using Mudbox? I'm going to this Game Art college part time and they use both Maya and Mudbox, though I haven't taken the animation classes yet. Here's the school: http://academic.rcc.edu/movalgaming/ I'm taking Flash CS5 right now and made several animated shorts in flat 2D. The 3D animation will be the fun part.
  25. BruceM Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2006
    star 4
    lol, I love how the link to that website uses one of the demo levels for the unreal development kit.

    Anyway, didn't take too long to render, probably 30-45 for all three. I essentially made a 3 frame animation with 3 different camera angles, and then batch rendered out of maya. I timed the batch render with lunch I believe. I use Maya/Photoshop a majority of the time, as well as UDK and a little zbrush(not as much zbrush as I like, but hopefully I can get some zbrush time with a small game level I am currently working on). I think i've opened up Mudbox once.




    [image=http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs963.snc4/75664_455458506603_628676603_6056140_2747104_n.jpg]

    ^The Stargate I modelled for my Atlantis Game Level in UDK. Render is slightly dated, and shows a temp event horizon/uncompleted material. I plan on getting some better renders later, and possibly redoing my normal map
Moderators: AdamBertocci