main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

There's no such thing as an abridged SW book, right?

Discussion in 'Literature' started by DarthRealLife, May 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarthRealLife

DarthRealLife Jedi Youngling

May 5, 2002
    I'm relatively new to the EU, so I've just recently finished SOTME. On one of the first pages, just before the introduction, there's a little teaser-excerpt that's supposed to be a taste of what the book will be... I thought. When I actually got to the passage in the text, there were several differences in wording. I thought they might have changed the excerpt to suit someone who hadn't read the book yet (taking out the reference to Hin, for example.) But the last two senteces of the excerpt didn't need to be changed. So why were they? Was it changed, or was the book changed?

I'm usually not such a sucker for these details, but since canon-ness is so important, it would be a nightmare to readers and collectors if more than one version of the text exists. The Del Rey paperback has the exact same text as the original hardback, right? There's no such thing as an abridged SW book, is there?

2. lightsaber_wielder

lightsaber_wielder Jedi Padawan star 4

Jan 24, 2002
    I'm not sure if there are abridged SW books or not, though I know that they have bits cut - e.g The Apprentice was originally going to be part of Dark Journey, and there was a cut bit between Luke and Face that was going to appear in Rebel Stand. Ok, being a relative newbie to EU, I hope you just understood all that stuff I rambled on with. 8-}

3. A-WingsRule

A-WingsRule Jedi Padawan star 4

Oct 9, 2002
    If not, Apprentice is a short story that takes place in the novel Dark Journey.

I think the excerpts in the front are swiddles around a bit, to make them more accessible. Or something. It's done in the WST. (Wraith Squadron Trilogy, X-Wing #5-7)

4. Elven_Jedi_Maiden