main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Thinking of buying a Mac for video editing... Dont know which one!

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Dax_Kenobi, Aug 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dax_Kenobi

Dax_Kenobi Jedi Master

Jul 14, 2004
    So I'm a college student looking to buy either a Macbook or a Macbook Pro... the Macbook is only $999, and the Pro is $1799 for college students.

I wanna run iLife, and most likely the Final Cut Studio package... would the Macbook be capable of running those programs? What are your suggestions?

2. NateCaauwe

NateCaauwe Jedi Grand Master star 4

May 30, 2005
    You'd want the MacBook Pro. The MacBook can run Final Cut (I've done it), but it doesn't have a dedicated video card, so it's abilities are rather limited. The MacBook Pro is a very capable machine and is actually my only computer as of right now. I have the mid-range model, which boasts a faster video card than the cheapest one, but still isn't overly huge with a 17" display. Course, I bought mine in March, so the ones that are out now are even better, so lucky you :p

3. madhorizons

madhorizons Jedi Master star 3

May 10, 2006
    I agree, if you're going to use a laptop, definitely go with the MacBook Pro. You get a lot more "umph" with that.

4. AstroninjaStudios

AstroninjaStudios Jedi Youngling star 1

May 16, 2007
    The MacBook Pro's are crazy strong. If you want a laptop for editing, that's the one to go with. I would also recommend saving some coin and opting for the extra ram. If you're going to run Final Cut Studio 2, you'll need it to take advantage of all the crazy crap in there.

5. MarcusDade

MarcusDade Jedi Master star 4

Apr 5, 2006
    I have a current package that I'm extremely happy with:

MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz// 4 GB RAM// Glossy Display.