TIE Fighter

Discussion in 'Games' started by DarthMak, Aug 7, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarthMak Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 4, 2001
    star 5
    OK, today was a grand day. I got TIE to work under Windows XP, and I'm already addicted to it again. I'm on battle 10, but I gotta know, how many battles are there? It seems like the game takes forever, which isn't exactly a bad thing. ;)
  2. SirLancelot Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 10, 2002
    star 4
  3. pat-fett Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2001
    star 5
    I remember how I thought I beat the game to find out I had more missions to go. I have to admit I enjoyed this game more than X-wing. I hope they do more flight sims.
  4. DarthMak Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 4, 2001
    star 5
    pat-fett, are you talking about when the Emperor honors you on Coruscant? Because that was when I thought it was over.

    SirLancelot, I got this off of gamefaqs.com. I hope you have success with it.

    These are the steps I took to finally get TIE95 to work under XP. BTW, don't ask me about TIE disk or TIE CD.

    1. Download the Microsoft Windows XP Application Compatibility Toolkit 2.0 from here
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/downloads/default.asp?URL=/downloads/sample.asp?url= /msdn-files/027/001/685/msdncompositedoc.xml [remove the space in the middle of the URL]
    2. Install the toolkit you just downloaded.
    3. If it's not already installed, install TIE 95.
    4. Once TIE 95 is installed, go to the directory where it was installed (default is C:\Program Files\Lucas Arts\TIE 95) Right click on TIE95.exe, and click the compatibility tab. Make sure nothing is checked there. And do the same for tiestart.exe.
    5. Now go to the location that you installed the toolkit from step one. (default is C:\Program Files\Application Compatibility Toolkit) When there, open the applications folder, and then startup QFixApp.
    6. Click on browse and select tiestart.exe (C:\Program Files\Lucas Arts\TIE 95)
    7. In the layers tab, select Win 95
    8. In the fixes tab, un check the Emulate Joystick option
    9. Click the advanced button.
    10. Click Add matching file... and select tie95.exe
    11. Expand all the options in the pane below this button (tie95) and check all of the boxes.
    12. Click the run button to test it out. (note: before you launch a mission turn off 3d support in the game)
    13. If it works, click the create fix button, and follow the instructions. If not, try selecting WIN 98 in the layers tab
    14. You should know be able to launch the game by clicking on the icon.

    Note that this only works for TIE 95. If you have TIE disk or TIE CD, you may be out of luck.


    Good luck.

    Anyway, Totally Games has stated that they won't make any more Star Wars flight sims, which sucks royally, but the ones out now are good enough.

    Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go play more TIE Fighter. I love this game!!! :D
  5. pat-fett Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 17, 2001
    star 5
  6. Jomero Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 1999
    star 3
    Two words: Suh-Weet!

    Thank you for that detailed walkthrough on getting it to work. I was mourning over the fact I might not be able to kill some Rebel scum anymore after my upgrade to XP. I will definitely give this a try (along with a bunch of my other older games).

    -Jomero
  7. tenorjedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 17, 2000
    star 5
    Never say never. Hopefully if they won't LA will find someone who will.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.