main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Tips for new collectors (please add your own!)

Discussion in 'Collecting' started by Juke Skywalker, Aug 23, 2016.

1. Juke Skywalker

Juke Skywalker Force Ghost star 5

Mar 27, 2004
    I've been collecting now for about 16 years; the first 4 years dabbling, the last 12 "seriously". The other day I was organizing the checklists for the dozens of toy lines and other 70s/80s related items that I collect and I started thinking back on the first items I bought for each line. I had grown up with these various lines, so I knew--or thought I knew--what I was doing. Boy was I wrong.

In collecting, as in life, we often learn our greatest lessons from the mistakes we make. With that in mind, I wanted to start a thread with tips for new collectors who may just be starting out. My specific focus here will be the vintage Kenner Star Wars line and vintage era collectibles, but in many instances it applies to collecting vintage toys and collectibles in general. As I said in the title, please contribute your tips and suggestions. I'm bound to miss a lot, and you are likely to have advice that applies to areas other than vintage era collectibles. With that in mind, here we go.

Ch.1 - So you wanna collect vintage Star Wars items?