main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Saga Train the Boy - Obi-Wan and Anakin, shortly after TPM

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction- Before, Saga, and Beyond' started by Calantha, Mar 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Calantha

Calantha Jedi Master star 2

Oct 25, 2002
    Train the Boy

A vignette about Obi-Wan and Anakin, shortly after the events of TPM.

This is my first time posting on the boards, just a one post vignette. I found writing Star Wars fanfic very enjoyable, so I suspect I'll be writing more stories in the future. Read on to discover if this is a good thing or not!

Obi-Wan could not sleep.

He had stared at the shadows on his wall for hours, possibly the entire night. At some point, he had lost track of the time. Frustration was setting in - his mind was rambling and racing. Too much to think about when he needed to sleep.

One week ago, he had been a senior Padawan, with all the standard worries and responsibilities of his peers. That was his role, he had understood that. Certainly, he had been on the verge of mastering the role of apprentice.

Barely one day later, his Master was dead. Killed by a hellish creature that Obi-Wan had thought to only exist in ancient history and overactive imaginations. He had faced the sith himself - barely escaping his master?s fate. Before he knew it, he was no longer a student.

?Train the boy?

The three words rang through his head incessantly. The last words of his master, whom he loved dearly. What was he supposed to say? I?m not ready - I don?t understand this job - I simply cannot -

?Yes Master.?

Those words came naturally. It was all he could do to comfort and honour his master in those last moments. With his fallen mentor still in his arms, Obi-Wan?s mind had barely grasped the promise he had given. In those few moments afterwards, Obi-Wan did something he had not done since he was a little boy. He wept.