We've said that you are free to do so, and if you return it to the exact way it was when the save was made (as in you have an exact copy of the way it was posted here) then it will remain the same. But if you go in and edit lines you realise you didn't like or change anything from the way it was saved when the back up was made then it will of course revert back to the way it was saved. Some people don't want to go in and do that because it would be a lot of work, and that's fine. Some people have since changed some things and don't want to go back and change it again. Others have gone in and edited their stories back in. It's all up to what you want to do. As for saving things, and then losing the physical copies. This is why it is also a good idea to back things up in other ways, email, your own website, fanfic.net, AO3, LiveJournal, etc. I'm very sorry for those who have lost work, I understand what that means, I've lost work due to a HD crash and it really sucks. But we warned for over a year that it was a possiblilty that things might get lost and people should prepare. We are doing our best to get that info back, and believe me I want it too... there are so many awesome stories that deserve to be read and those people may have moved on to other things or are no longer with us, but we can only do what we can do.