Using JavaScript to make the markup codes more versatile.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Lobot_Omy, Aug 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
  2. jasman Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 1998
    star 4
    Well, I finally decided to let you guys see it!

    Click HERE for the SPEEDO pic!
  3. Darth Gleng Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 17, 1999
    star 3
    lol indeed!

    Edit: tried something else but it didn't work! ;)
  4. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    Darth Gleng, you can use ' instead of \", so that way you can save character space. ;)

    Edit: Darth Gleng, you can add some of your JavaScript codes if you want. These are the only ones I could think of that could be useful around here.

    Clickidy click
  5. Darth Gleng Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 17, 1999
    star 3
    I was trying to squeeze some DHTML into one line but it was doomed to failure from the start! ;)

    As for my scripts, well they're hardly useful but here's the ones I've used so far anyway ;)

    To do the multiple alert box thing from my post above, you simply separate the alert() commands with semicolons, like so:

    javascript:alert("This");alert("is");alert("getting");alert("silly!");

    My prompt from the last page, uses a variable (created with var) to store whatever is typed into the prompt() box, in this script I have called my variable stuff.

    The script goes something like this:

    var stuff = prompt("Type something!");
    alert(stuff);


    Where I have typed "Type something!" just tells the initial prompt box to display the question.

    This unfortunately has to be squished down into one line, again separating with the semicolon, eg:

    javascript:var stuff = prompt("Type something");alert(stuff);

    Remember to always substitute the spaces for the the space character code (%20 or whichever you use) so it'll end up looking like this:


    javascript:var%20stuff%20=%20prompt("Type%20something");alert(stuff);


    There ya go!





    Actually now I've thought about it:


    javascript:alert(prompt("Type something!"))


    would have been easier! ;)
  6. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    You don't have to put var in order to create a variable you can just state the name and assign the value to it. It makes it shorter. If you put %20 instead of spaces then it will only work in IE, not Netscape, but I don't know how many people here actually use Netscape.

    Thanks for sharing the codes. :)
  7. Darth Gleng Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 17, 1999
    star 3
    Thanks Lobot_Omy! ;)

    I wonder what time it is??

    Hehehe...here's the script!


    javascript:t=new Date();alert("It\'s "+t.getHours()+":"+t.getMinutes());]I wonder what time it is??


    Of course, remembering your favourite space substitute! ;)
  8. jasman Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 1998
    star 4
    It's probably not necessary to post the code. If you place your cursor over the link, the code appears at the left end of the status bar at the bottom of the window. I always look there before clicking on a link.
  9. yodaboy Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 5, 2001
    star 5
  10. Gandalf the Grey Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 14, 2000
    star 6
    It is necessary if we want to cut and paste.
  11. jasman Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 1998
    star 4
    yodaboy,

    You need to add the space substitutes between 'is' and 'getting' and between 'really' and 'complicated'.

    Now get rid of that last semicolon.

    Don't worry, you'll get there! :D

    ______________

    Gandolf, sorry, didn't think of that.

    :(
  12. Darth-Stryphe Former Mod and City Rep

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2001
    star 6
    So what are the rules that define the limitations in which javascript can operate on these boards?
  13. jasman Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 1998
    star 4
    When in doubt, ask a moderator. All of the examples shown on this thread so far are, IMO, perfectly acceptable. Using them could be a lot of fun, something to do when it gets kinda slow around here. :)

    If you're thinking of using a javascript code, post it here first.

    Also, remember that this kind of thing is best if it isn't over-used.
    Even this can get [face_plain] if used too much.


    (click the face)

    OK, how do you get the smilies to work in the link?

    [face_blush]

    It worked!

    :D


  14. Darth Gleng Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 17, 1999
    star 3
    As long as they're not offensive and they don't kill the board in any way, I can't see there being a problem :)
  15. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    Yeah, as long as they don't mess up browsers or do any other funny things they should be fine, in my opinion.

    Edit:
    For my link above with splitting responces.

    Code: javascript:confirm('your text')?alert('your text'):alert('your text')

    Without the spaces of course.
  16. Valiowk Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 23, 2000
    star 6
    Hmmm, I wonder if this should be posted in Info Threads? It seems to me that it might be useful, but we'll need to tidy this up first. :)
  17. yodaboy Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 5, 2001
    star 5
  18. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    I tried to pick useful codes. Like that link opening in a new window when you just left-click it and the scrolling around the page code. But other than that I can't come up with anything else. There's so many problems that one can run into using JavaScript around here, since the amount of characters in the link tag is limited and no spaces are allowed.

    Scrolling to the location of page that the user wants to go to:

    Code: javascript:a=prompt('Where%20to?');navigator.appName=='Netscape'?scrollTo(0,parseInt(a)):scroll(0,parseInt(a))

    Example: Go To

  19. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    Message before leaving the page:

    code: javascript:alert('Your message');location='URL goes here'

    Example: Communications

    Edit: Or better yet...
    Ask if user really wants to leave the page before leaving:

    code: javascript:if(confirm('Are%20you%20sure?')){location='URL goes here'}

    Example: Communications

  20. Darth Gleng Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 17, 1999
    star 3
    Not a javascript but still handy anyway :)

    I just used this in another thread. Linking to a directory on the users machine.

    Enter the path to a directory as the link and it will open in the browser window. Not much use, but handy if you're trying to give tech support via the message board :)

    Example:

    Here's your C:\ drive!
  21. JediMaster22 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 15, 1999
    star 8
    I used it at the library once, ok... they hide their drives.... and this javascript alone opened it.

    Security Flaw of Windows, eh :p
  22. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    I'm bored so here's a useless way to use JavaScript here:

    Linking to another page:

    code: javascript:location='URL goes in here'

    Example
  23. Phantom_Catfish Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 2001
    star 4
    I cant get a pic to show! I have tried the HTML but i cant get it to work.
  24. Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2001
    star 6
    What pic are you talking about?
  25. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    well i assume you mean you used ezcodes where you put the tags in like this:

    [image=http://www.images.com/image1.jpg

    (but adding a "]" on the end, i left it out to display the coding)

    HTML does not work on these forums so this would not work:

    <img src="http://www.inages.com/image1.jpg">

    and of course certain servers like angelfire and geocites won't display the images no matter what cause they're stoopid ;)

    hope i've cleared this up for ya

    ¤Night
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.