main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Using JavaScript to make the markup codes more versatile.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Lobot_Omy, Aug 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Night4554

    Night4554 Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Oct 9, 2000
    well i have the posting cannot be displayed nonsense with PM's and posts, but when i went to your profile I got Night4554sa just like normal....

    ¤Night
     
  2. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Hmmm, I'm confused.
     
  3. Night4554

    Night4554 Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Oct 9, 2000
    i don't know what's going on:

    i get the strange posting thing where it goes to the cannot connect to server thing

    BUT

    i remain logged in, and when i went to your profile it said my name, like normal.

    EDIT:I switch computers, logged in, and now i am getting no errors at all...

    ¤Night
     
  4. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    OK, I've cleared my Temp Internet Files and it seems to be working fine now.

    Edit: How could that have possibly been a coincidence with so many people being involved?
     
  5. yodaboy

    yodaboy Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Feb 5, 2001
    [link=http://boards.theforce.net/user.asp?usr=326838]go visit my profile, it has many examples of javascript that you will find very cool![/link]
     
  6. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Hmmmm.

    Edit: So I'm banned now, am I?

    [link=http://boards.theforce.net/banned.asp?status=Spank+spank+spank+spank+spank%2E] Yodaboy, click here [/link]
     
  7. yodaboy

    yodaboy Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Feb 5, 2001
    yes, and it'll become a perm bann if you keep posting while banned!

    oh the possibilities, i could make it auto link to add me to their watched users list! i'll have to think about it. [face_devil]
     
  8. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Look in post above.
     
  9. yodaboy

    yodaboy Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Feb 5, 2001
    lol, i like the personal touch :D
     
  10. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    "I could make it auto link to add me to their watched users list! i'll have to think about it."

    Don't do it, Yodaboy. You know better than that. I know how tempting the Dark Side must be, but you must remain strong and withhold your primal urges.

    Edit: At least you're not sending our browsers into infinite loops, yet. I probably shouldn't have said that.
     
  11. yodaboy

    yodaboy Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Feb 5, 2001
    actually, that thought had already crossed my mind. i will be stong and resist the temptation, it should be easy for a jedi master like me right? ;)
     
  12. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Yes, be stong, Yodaboy. A JavaScript-Jedi's stength lies not his abilities, but in his control of them.
     
  13. NathanDahlin

    NathanDahlin Administrator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jun 28, 2000
    This strikes me as similar to cloning...it can be useful if done in moderation, but if you take it too far and/or the capabilities fall into the wrong hands, you can have chaos. :(
     
  14. Lobot_Omy

    Lobot_Omy Moderator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Ohh, it's so easy for you to take away this capability. Please don't, I don't want this thread closed. :(
     
  15. yodaboy

    yodaboy Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Feb 5, 2001
    yeah, please don't. i took the banned link out of my profile.
     
  16. NathanDahlin

    NathanDahlin Administrator Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jun 28, 2000
    No, we don't have any intentions to disable them (besides which, to do so, we'd probably have to contact Snowball [face_plain] ). I'm just worried about how far Javascript capabilities go...
     
  17. McNerf-Burger

    McNerf-Burger Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Tell me, is there any way to use this "javascript" technology to...say...INCREASE YOUR POST COUNT WITHOUT POSTING!?!? Bwa ha ha ha ha.

    [link=javascript:alert('Do%20Not%20Trust%20The%20Panda%20Bears')]Alert[/link]
     
  18. Valiowk

    Valiowk Jedi Grand Master star 6

    Registered:
    Apr 23, 2000
    I'm really starting to worry about what would happen if Snowboards gets a new programmer and you all continue doing all this ;)
     
  19. JediMaster22

    JediMaster22 Jedi Knight star 8

    Registered:
    Oct 15, 1999
    This is a try

    [link=C:\]C Drive[/link]
     
  20. Aragorn327

    Aragorn327 Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Aug 20, 2001
    [link=javascript:alert('Do_not_trust_teh_evil_skwerls!')] Warning! [/link]
     
  21. PadawanNick

    PadawanNick Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Is there anyway to use this to make functional bookmarks or anchors in a thread?

    In the FanFilms forum, we have a large FAQ thread to help the flood of newcomers get started, but it's grown to several pages and it would be nice to have an index added by a mod to the first post. But how?

    The scroll function is really not good enough as people have different settings as to how many posts-per-page are displayed.

    I know I could use the existing URL to include a "start=XXX" parameter to ensure the proper page was opened, but what about marking an anchor and jumping to it?

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks!!

    Have fun!
     
  22. Ki-Edi-Mundi

    Ki-Edi-Mundi Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 21, 2000
    Unfortunately, no. To simulate anchors you have to use the scroll() function Lobot desribes in the initial post. I know it's a pain, but that's all we really have to work with.
     
  23. BYOB_Kenobi

    BYOB_Kenobi Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Dec 7, 2000
    Let's see if this will work:

    [image=javascript:A='http://www.google.com'] [image=javascript:B=(screen.width-800)/2] [image=javascript:C=(screen.height-600)/2] [image=javascript:D='width=800,height=600,left='+B+',top='+C+',scrollbars=1']

    [link=javascript:window.open(A,'',D);location.reload()]Click here.[/link]


    EDIT: It sure did! [link=javascript:alert('Go\40me!')] :cool:[/link]
     
  24. Obi_one_and_only

    Obi_one_and_only Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Ooooo, oooooo, ooooo!!!
    :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

    This thread is super!!!
    Thanks a lot Lobot!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.