main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Using Photoshop to create "Crawl"

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by LordSinshine, Feb 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LordSinshine

LordSinshine Jedi Youngling star 1

May 29, 2002
    I'm new hear...at least on the Fan Film Forum. So hello fello filmmakers!

I'm a 25 year old filmmaker (by hobby, anyway) from Long Island, NY and I've decided to make my very first Star Wars fan film. Having majored in communications and film making in college and being a huge fan of the medium (not to mention the SW Universe) I hope this will be a rewarding experience. I created a Halloween Fan Film (tribute film) last year called All Hallows Eve and had a blast with it. I have a hunch this experience might be even better.

At any rate, getting back to my topic...I've
    read through many tutorials about how to create the opening "crawl" in a fan film. I'm only working with Photoshop and Premiere. I tried using Blender but it doesn't seem to be so user friendly. So what I've been coming up with is a way to alter the "lightsaber" effect (using PS and Premiere) to create the crawl...frame by frame. This must be the most time consuming and tedious method, but it seems to be working...so far anyway (still have a few more days to put into it).

My question is this...have any of you tried a similar method (creating the "crawl" frame by frame in Photoshop using Numeric sizing and perspective)? Success?

Also, I'm not looking to purchase any new software, but if anyone knows of any other shareware/freeware products that can create this effect (other than the dreaded Blender)
    I'd greatly appreciate the advise.

Thanks in advance!

2. darth_kohai

darth_kohai Jedi Youngling star 3

Aug 30, 2001
    OK, so this likely not he answer you want to hear, but I'd say stay on the blender path.