main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Lit Wendig and Aftermath - why the hate?

Discussion in 'Literature' started by ZY-Fighter, Feb 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZY-Fighter

ZY-Fighter Jedi Knight star 1

Feb 1, 2017
    Hi all,
    Please forgive me if this is retreading old ground - I'm only a newbie here and to be honest the idea of going through the pages of existing threads is a bit daunting.

I've visited different SW fan communities in recent weeks and the common refrain seems to be that Chuck Wendig/Aftermath sucks, but after reading both current books a second time (in the lead-up to the final one) I'm struggling to understand why.

I never read much EU or many of the adaptations until recently. SOTE, Tales From/Of..., Knight Errant, Labyrinth Of Evil, Tarkin and A New Dawn are about it from the top of my head, and apart from the use of present tense in the Aftermath books I'm honestly not getting why there's such dislike for them - Wendig's work seems similar to the others. I really enjoyed reading both and the experience of buying and reading Aftermath so close to TFA was a great one.

I ask this honestly. I'm not trying to troll or create trouble, nor am I a secret plant from the publisher trying to infiltrate.

So what is it that makes fans mad about these books? Is it the use of present tense? The new characters? His treatment of Wedge and other original characters? The Interludes? The inclusion of gay and genderfluid characters? The storyline itself? Something else? I'm left scratching my head as no-one seems to offer any explanation other than it was bad or a let-down.

Thanks all.

Sinrebirth likes this.
  2. Snax Rebo

Snax Rebo Jedi Knight star 4

Feb 1, 2017