main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Would it be illegal to sell Twi'lek lekku?

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by VillieGee, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VillieGee

VillieGee Jedi Youngling star 3

Oct 30, 2002
    I'm no expert on the subject, and I was wondering what you guys think.
    If someone were to make a "one size fits all" Twi'lek headpiece that they could mass produce and sell, would that be copyright infringement? I would guess that as long as you just call it an "alien headpiece", that basically a latex hat with 2 big tentacles coming out of it wouldn't be copyrightable, right? I mean there's all sorts of obvious Star Wars knockoff toys out there that changed their products just enough to look like something else. Plus there's people that sell Stormtrooper kits and stuff and they never get sued (I don't think). What does everyone think?
    And if you have any legal experience, please speak up.

2. Jyro-Kyrn

Jyro-Kyrn Jedi Padawan star 4

Nov 26, 2002
    If you have to ask...

This is territory best not intruded upon. Do you really want to even have to fight the "technicality" battle with Lucasfilm Liscensing? Best to not anger the sleeping giant.

3. Sabia_Ronit

Sabia_Ronit Jedi Youngling star 1

Mar 12, 2003
    Call it a snakewomans headdress.

4. darthgoat

darthgoat Jedi Master star 4

Sep 6, 2001
    unless you are Rubies, the license holder, it is illegal.

5. JediToren

JediToren Jedi Master star 4

Mar 20, 2000
    "I'm no expert on the subject, and I was wondering what you guys think.
    If someone were to make a "one size fits all" Twi'lek headpiece that they could mass produce and sell, would that be copyright infringement?
    "