TOR Would the Technology of the Current Consoles support TOR?

Discussion in 'Games' started by LottDodd, Nov 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LottDodd Force Ghost

star 4
    KOTOR (and KOTOR II) is my favorite game of all time. Along with Mass Effect, Dragon Age, and Jade Empire... Bioware can do no wrong in my opinion. So naturally I am dying to play TOR when it comes out. However my computer is crappy, so it will take me approx $1000 bucks for something worthy to run the game on.
    Now I know that so far the game has been tracking only for PC (I am hoping that EA will see the folly of this). But I'm wondering is that because the game is so Big it would only work on PC? XBOX Live seems to be able to hold a billion or so people for Halo or Black ops. I'm sure those partical effects have to slow down the internet far more than crunchy Hit Point Data... But I don't know. I'm not a programmer.
    So is The Old Republic being available only for PC a Marketing or Technological Decision?
  2. Sith-Lord-Gunray Ex-Mod

star 7
    The majority of people interested in an MMO have PC's. There isn't really a huge demand for it on any other console at the moment. Given that their biggest competition is Blizzard, they'd be smart to make it run on Mac as well. Butttt I don't think that's going to happen anytime soon.

Also it's not a tech thing, they can definitely make it for other consoles it's just a matter of time/money/worth.
  3. JasperMereel_ Jedi Knight

star 2
    Well, time will tell if that happens. Who knows?
  4. Sinrebirth SWC and EUC Forum Moderator

Manager
    star 7
    As a primarily PS3 user, I'd have to be a little bit hopeful that it will hit consoles, even in some kind of abbreviated format. Though more likely than not it'll remain PC only.
  5. LottDodd Force Ghost

star 4