Yoda mesh released!

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Carl_el_cee, Jul 26, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: AdamBertocci
  1. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    Thats right! And until I find out how to make him move, heres my first render. Credit goes to the creator, Jay Hosfelt, for making such a wonderful mesh, long time seeked, and at last made!

    [image=http://www.kaischaller.com/carl/j.jpg]


    :D

    Carl
  2. JediTAC Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 5
    The face is FANTASTIC.

    The rest of the head and hands still need some work.
    Nevertheless ... great to have the addition. :D
  3. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    Agreed, TAC. Also, I wonder why he has this black thing over his chest. If you take his clothes off, btw (no, I'm not what you're thinking), he has this black patch all over his body. Its weird to see yodas legs. He looks much -never though I'd say this- younger. Meaning more... complete... you know... :D

    Carl
  4. darth_kohai Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2001
    star 3
    He doesn't look a day over 700 :p

    Cool. When do we get to see him dance?
  5. BrentK7 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2000
    star 4
  6. Lord_Homer Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 30, 2002
    star 4
    I read in the scifi3d forum that there will be an upgrade of this one coming out soon! :D
  7. DarthVader79 San Francisco FF Chapter Rep

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2001
    star 4
    TWO WORDS MAN!!! HOLY SHINTO!!!!

    Good lord that looks great,

    Only thing I dont like about it is his hand, his hand looks kinda clayish, and I think he needs some hair,

    But besides that, THIS IS BEAUTIFUL AND IS JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR!!!

    Will this ever be available for people to...You know? Use in those 3d programs and make movies? Im new to CGI.
  8. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    As I mentioned in my first post, DarthVader, this is a render that I did in MAX. So it obviously is out already for 3D "those 3D programs" ;)

    Carl
  9. EagleIFilms Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 5
    Actually, Carl, this is what you said in your first post:

    Thats right! And until I find out how to make him move, heres my first render. Credit goes to the creator, Jay Hosfelt, for making such a wonderful mesh, long time seeked, and at last made!

    Nothing about MAX, bud. Before making a statement like that, check your facts.
  10. Pixelito Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2002
    star 4
    //pre-emptively uses Jedi mind trick on Carl

    Relax....
  11. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    I'm relaxed, and before this goes on any further, the program does matter. Just read the sentence again: "Here is my first RENDER". By saying render, I make it clear that I first imported it into a 3D program, regardless which one I did it in. I don't talk nonsense, not to worry ;)
    If you still disagree heres the whole matter broken into a tiny moursel: If its a RENDER that I did, I obviously needed a 3D program TO render it.
    And Shoveler, what do you find funny about it now?

    Carl
  12. Shoveler Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2001
    star 2
    Lovin' it EagleIFilms haha :D
  13. EagleIFilms Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 5
    As I mentioned in my first post, DarthVader, this is a render that I did in MAX.

    Hm...

    Like I said in my first post in this thread, you should say exactly what you mean, and don't expect that everyone knows what 'render' means.
  14. Pixelito Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2002
    star 4
    "Here is my first RENDER". By saying render, I make it clear that I first imported it into a 3D program, regardless which one I did it in. I don't talk nonsense, not to worry

    to CARL (not you, EagleI): but he [EagleI] asked WHICH program it was from, which is not something you addressed.

    does that clear it up, Eagle?
  15. EagleIFilms Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 5
    Actually, he didn't.

    He just asked if the mesh would be available for 3D programs.

    But I'm just trying to address Carl not being right with his facts.
  16. Shoveler Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2001
    star 2
    Carl, a wise man admits there is much he does not know and can admit when he is wrong. Some clever words there. Now I'm not trying to start a flame war here I'm just saying maybe you should take a little more care in how you respond to people's posts. You seem to talk down to people on this board and I think that's a very negative thing to do seeing as we're all here to help each other. Now I respect you just like everybody else and have seen you turn out quality work I just don't like to see this go to people's heads, and I'm not saying it has with you.

    Shoveler
  17. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    He asked if it was out for those "3D programs", I responded that obviously it is if I've done a render. Ok, I can admit the mistake of not explaining what a render is for those that do not know the term. But other than that, I don't think I have expressed myself incorrectly.
    Forget MAX and the concrete facts, DarthVade79 used the term "those 3D programs", and I responded yes (adding that I had done it in 3D Studio MAX). Anyway, this bickering is pointless... Lets just keep with the topic. The Yoda mesh is released. What else is there to say? I mean, come on! The topic says it all, the YODA MESH is RELEASED! Wheres the complication in that?

    Carl
  18. Shoveler Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2001
    star 2
    Shoveler repeats his previous post.

    Carl, I don't think you expressed yourself incorrectly maybe just a little inappropriately. As I said in my previous post I have respect for you and everybody else on this board and I hope you do to.

    Shoveler
  19. DarthVader79 San Francisco FF Chapter Rep

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2001
    star 4
    JEEZ!! STOP BEING MEAN TO THE POOR GUY!!!!

    OR HE MIGHT NOT RELEASE IT IN "those 3D programs" AT ALL!!!
  20. Jedi2016 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2000
    star 4
    What do you mean, "not release it"? It's up on Sci-Fi 3D right now, in MAX and 3DS formats. A little late to "not release it".

    Which is odd, considering it was modeled in LW, but I won't bother with that at the moment.

    I don't see what all the hubbub is about in this thread.. are there actually people here who don't know that the words "mesh" and "render" are referring to CGI?
  21. DorkmanScott Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2001
    star 6
    Well, 2D proggies like AE also "render" the final product.

    But mesh, ain't no excuse.

    BTW, 2016, you've got mail. :)

    M. Scott
  22. Nerddogs Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2001
    star 1
    Here's that bad boy RENDERED in BLENDER (I guess that falls into one of the other 3d programs):
    [image=http://www.geocities.com/nerddogs/yoda.txt]
  23. DorkmanScott Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2001
    star 6
    Bad boy indeed, he looks SATANIC! [face_laugh]

    M. Scott
  24. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    Ah! Now I get it! That black thing that appeared all over Yoda's chest is supposed to be his shirt. But it neaded a plugin for the .max file, thats the plugin that didt work for me... maybe only for 4.2? I shall probably never know...

    Carl
  25. Nerddogs Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2001
    star 1
    "Strong with the dark side I am..he he he.."
Moderators: AdamBertocci
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.