Your Method of Working

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Lord_Charisma, Sep 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: AdamBertocci
  1. Lord_Charisma Jedi Master

star 4
    Now, until recently, my working plan for any effects / editing I had to do was just "whenever I can, in my spare time". Now, I've been introduced to what I call "Power Working" by my brother's friend. Him and my brother are website designers by trade, and their method is this: Arrive at the location for the work (usually his home, where there are many computers in the same room available), after the normal working day. On the way, buy several bottled of Red Bull/Red Rooster/name your energy drink. Then sit, drinking the caffiene goodness, for eight ours straight, all night, with a break at around 3 AM for a coffee and a sandwich.

I've recently made a short film with my brother's friend, and "Power Working" really has helped - filled to the brim with caffiene and concentrated on your work, you can get a lot done. We got what I would estimate would normally be three weeks worth of work done in the space of two "Power Working" nights.

What other methods of getting the job done do people use?
  2. The_Mathematician Jedi Knight

star 2
    Whoa -- that is VERY close to what I do...
  3. RIPLEY426 Jedi Master

star 4
    I´ve got 4 days lift to finsih editing AND sound editing on the last two remaining sequences of my movie... Holy crap! WHERE IS THE COFFEE??????
  4. Funk-E Force Ghost

star 6
    I find that whips usually work pretty well, when you're not working alone, anyway.

I have a friend who does something remarkably similar to yours, though he fuels himself throughout the day with several two-liter bottles of Diet Coke.
  5. DMPjedi Jedi Master

star 4
    I would do that in the summer or on a weekend. Dang I wish I didn't have school tomorrow, I could get the remaining work on the Movie Spoof 2 trailer shots done!