main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

JCC Go science?

Discussion in 'Community' started by Jabbadabbado, Sep 26, 2012.

1. dp4m

dp4m Chosen One star 10

Nov 8, 2001
    Sweet, thanks!

Lord Vivec likes this.
  2. blackmyron

blackmyron Chosen One star 7

Oct 29, 2005
    Why learn real science when you can learn all about the galactic photon belt?

(It came up while doing 'research' for a Call of Cthulhu adventure I want to do for Halloween. Like Kenneth Hite says, bad science and bad history make for good roleplaying adventures)

Also, since I have a physics degree, moribund as it is, I am glad that sites like this exist.

VadersLaMent and Darth Smurf like this.
  3. Darth Smurf

Darth Smurf Small, but Lethal star 6

Dec 22, 2015
  4. VadersLaMent

VadersLaMent Chosen One star 10

Apr 3, 2002
    Iron_lord likes this.
  5. Ghost

Ghost Chosen One star 8

Oct 13, 2003
    Strange life forms found deep in a mine point to vast 'underground Galapagos'
    The rock-eating, sulfur-breathing microbes have scientists wondering what other strange creatures dwell deep below Earth's surface.

Something odd is stirring in the depths of Canada's Kidd Mine. The zinc and copper mine, 350 miles northwest of Toronto, is the deepest spot ever explored on land and the reservoir of the oldest known water. And yet 7,900 feet below the surface, in perpetual darkness and in waters that have remained undisturbed for up to two billion years, the mine is teeming with life.

Many scientists had doubted that anything could live under such extreme conditions. But in July, a team led by University of Toronto geologist Barbara Sherwood Lollar reported that the mine’s dark, deep water harbors a population of remarkable microbes.