main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

About the ban on mind rape

Discussion in 'Communications' started by FromDromundKaasWithLove, Mar 11, 2020.

1. FromDromundKaasWithLove

FromDromundKaasWithLove Jedi Master star 3

Jan 20, 2020
    Hello, I'm FromDromundKaasWithLove. You may remember me from such threads as this one!

I'm still fairly new to how this forum works so I'm hoping that I'm doing this right.

This is about the term "mind rape" and how it has been disallowed in reference to the interrogation scene in the Force Awakens. It is a term that the filmmakers have used to describe the scene in question so, I feel that validates its usage in discussions pertaining to that scene.

“A further discovery was a castle on a lake up in Scotland’s Isle of Skye. “And now we’re in a swashbuckling, medieval movie with knights and we’re finding Excalibur. And the next step is we actually get to go with Snow White out in a forest and the Dark Prince comes and puts her in a spell and carries her off. But then, when she’s being raped mentally, she’s able to fight him off and reverse the spell where he’s afraid.” – Rick Carter, production designer for the Force Awakens.

“After the movie Daniel [Fleetwood] and I were able to give our reviews to JJ himself over the phone! Daniel was so funny and honest, and he did love the movie! One review he told JJ was: When Kylo is trying to use the force to read Reys mind, Daniel was drifting in and out and thought it was a rape scene in his mind. Turns out he was awake enough, he told JJ it seemed like a rape scene! I was mortified and apologized to JJ cause I didn’t get a sexual rape feel; turns out Daniel knew what he was talking about even with all that medication he was on, JJ said, well he is right, it is a violent mind rape. After talking with JJ Abrams they packed up and went back to California.” - Ashley Fleetwood

2. TCF-1138