main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Senate Gun Control

Discussion in 'Community' started by Ghost, Dec 14, 2012.

1. Jedi Knight Fett

Jedi Knight Fett Chosen One star 10

Feb 18, 2014
    I think I had 2 lockdown drills in my school career. Maybe I just forgot the rest. I do agree that there should be some warning there. Tell the kids they need to take this seriously. But warn them.

2. Mar17swgirl

Mar17swgirl Chosen One star 7

Dec 26, 2000
    Just the fact that you even have active shooter drills at schools, in a supposedly developed country, is insane. Insane.

I mean, I was an exchange student in the US when I was 15, but there's no way in hell I'd send my daughter there to be an exchange student. In an actual civilised European country, yes. In the US, no.

Vaderize03, Rew, Juliet316 and 9 others like this.
  3. Lowbacca_1977

Lowbacca_1977 Chosen One star 7

Jun 28, 2006
    Eh, kids are substantially more likely to be shot and killed outside of school than in it. Something like for every 1 kid shot and killed in a school, 40 are shot and killed outside of school. Not that bad considering school accounts for roughly 1/6th of waking hours, it seems. I think one can argue they part of why school shootings get the attention they do because often the victims of school shootings are a very different demographic from other homicides.

As far as risk goes, the roads are more dangerous than the schools are. It's not that it's not an issue, but it doesn't do any good to disproportionately frame it.

Darth Guy likes this.
  4. QUIGONMIKE

QUIGONMIKE Jedi Grand Master star 4

Jan 5, 2009