main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Saga Advice on replacing my Star Wars DVD collection

Discussion in 'Star Wars Saga In-Depth' started by Darth Voldemort, Dec 17, 2021.

1. Darth Voldemort

Darth Voldemort Jedi Master star 1

Oct 21, 2014
    So i've been buying and selling Star Wars on DVD since 2005. I bought the full-screen box set in December 2005 even though my friend found the three disc wide-screen box set on Walmart's promo sale.

I gave away the full screen to a former colleague of my mother shortly after purchasing the four disc widescreen box set from Walmart.

When I learned of the 2 disc sets coming out I feel in love with the cover art so I bought them. TBH I still find it strange that Lucasfilm gave fans the option of owning the prequel films individually in 2 disc sets while the originals had to be bought in box sets with or without the bonus discs.

Releasing the originals in 2 disc sets with the bonus discs loaded with documentaries such as the rare documentary of TESB and one segment of Empire of Dreams in each disc. One segment of Science & Star Wars in each disc and the list could go on. They could load much more in three bonus discs than one.

But then the cover art of RTJ on the 2006 2 disc sets did not look as serious as the 2004 box DVD and being a devout fan, I then bought the three disc set of 2005.

But seeing the 2006 DVDs at blockbuster and unable to resist the cover art, i bought them again. By 2013 I sold off my three disc box set on Amazon.

I have no regrets about it. Also considering I idolized Star Wars as a symbol of "boy power" and having nasty stuff happen to me in 2014 that harmed my masculinity, I cared less for my admiration of SW.

I was kind of resenting more Star Wars movies being made. But when I saw TFA, I left the theaters overjoyed at how bad it was. I got a totally unexpected treat.