main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Jedi / Light Side Blue "Ghosty" Jedi Costume

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by Sister-of-Greencat, Apr 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sister-of-Greencat

Sister-of-Greencat Jedi Youngling

Apr 6, 2007
    At the behest of my Star Wars loving sister, Greencat, I am posting regarding my try at making a blue ghosty jedi costume from ROTJ.

I am working on the proto-type now and she thought others would be interested in our progress. I say our because she makes the request for the costume, and I sew it. I have been making Star Wars costumes for her for several years now including several types of Jedi robes and a Padme "storm the palace" outfit from Ep1. This doesn't include the many jedi robes I have sewn, at her request, for my children (her nieces and nephews).

To begin, I am using the basic robe pattern from the Simplicy 4450 pattern. Although I have read that it is not exact, it is close enough. For fabric, I am using a dark brown linen-like polester and an electric blue organiza. The polester is important as it won't wrinkle like real linen and is much cheaper than the tropica wool (light-weight wool). The organiza is placed over the brown linen-like fabric to make the effect of the blue ghosty aura.

For the tunic we purchased some nice "tunic" material in a typical light brown / beige of the typical jedi-tunic. We are planning on dying it a light blue. It is recommended to dye first then cut out the pattern. The dying might make the fabric shrink. Haven't tried this yet, but will let you know if it works.

So far it seems to be working. I am taking some guesses as how to proceed and will post these as I go. Any thoughts on this costume are welcome. :)

2. SummerWermo

SummerWermo Jedi Youngling

Mar 24, 2005
    Sounds really cool, cant wait to see it! :D Will she be wearing bluish ghosty face make up and dye in hair?