main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Resource Captain Phasma dialogue analysis and transcript for TFA and tie-ins as of posting

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by GreyBard, Jul 9, 2016.

1. GreyBard

GreyBard Jedi Master

Oct 28, 2005
    As distinctive a visual figure as she is, Captain Phasma has not actually had many lines. Yet few as they are, they are consistent, painting a very distinctive verbal picture. There is such a thing as a specific Phasma voice. As a dialogue obsessive writer, I felt the need to collect and analyze it all, and since I put the work in, I felt that I might as well share it.

I have collected every line of Phasma dialogue which I could find at the time of writing this. If I am missing any lines from The Force Awakens, Before the Awakening and Poe Dameron #2, let me know! Because I'm not sure whether it would be allowed on this forum, I have linked to the dialogue transcript instead of including it in the post.

Analysis:

Phasma's speech patterns are precise and educated, bordering on formal. In all situations except her short period as a hostage on Starkiller, she projects self-assurance. Arguably, she is fully aware of this effect, and using it intentionally.

When issuing commands to her stormtroopers, Phasma's speech is firm and to the point, with none of speechifying or emoting of Kylo Ren or Hux, but instead calm, collected, and very sure. This reinforces her authority with the stormtroopers she commands as well as reassure them. She does not explain or discuss how she feels about her commands, she simply commands. See: "On my command, fire." , “I am sending a unit to relieve you. Once they arrive proceed with your team to level alpha-seven-seven, room ought-three. Confirm.” and "Kill them.".

When speaking with her superiors, she speaks more deferentially, often standing silently until her input is requested or necessary.