main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Discussion Character Descriptions

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Shekel_1383, Jul 4, 2016.

1. Shekel_1383

Shekel_1383 Jedi Knight star 1

Jan 2, 2016
    Hello fellow authors!

I'm about to start writing my first fan fiction, but one thing I sometimes run into while writing is when I describe a new character. You want to give enough detail to get a good picture of the character in the reader's head, thus (given my obsession with creating fleshed-out characters), I sometimes ramble on.

So, an advise on describing new characters?

Cheers!

2. Thumper09

Thumper09 Jedi Grand Master star 4

Dec 9, 2001
    I'll warn you now that this is a long post. :p I did a presentation on this topic for my local writing group once, as much to help myself as anyone else since I had trouble with it. While I'm still learning how to put these things into practice, I discovered some tips during my research that I find helpful. Others may disagree or have different viewpoints, which is fine since there's no one-size-fits-all to writing.

My main research sources: Describing a Character's Physical Appearance, Dynamic Characters by Nancy Kress, and Elements of Fiction Writing: Description by Monica Wood.

In general, try to avoid regurgitating details in a long paragraph of nothing but character description. It sounds more like a police APB, it halts the story's momentum, and a reader's mind can gloss over and forget those details. Spacing things out is very helpful.

Make each descriptive word work harder, and don't describe something just for the sake of describing it. There should be a reason for each word of description in a story; it can both create a vivid picture for the reader and also teach us about the character's personality at the same time.

To use appearance to indicate personality, Dynamic Characters used this example from Stephen King's Carrie: