main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Fanfic - where have all the guys gone? Or how we discuss things in Fan Fic...

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by geo3, Jun 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geo3

geo3 Jedi Master star 4

Sep 29, 2002
    Back in the day when I was running long story threads, I used to be especially thrilled if I picked up a reader who was male. I took that as a positive indication that my story was well balanced and had a fairly broad appeal, because I was beginning to notice that the fanfic audience seemed to divide quite clearly along gender lines. I was especially delighted one day to find out that a reader had thought all along that I was a male author, and was shocked to find out that? well? I?m not :p

I?m now wondering, as I look around the boards, whether the male influence is on a steady decline. Very few male authors seem to have significant readerships and the majority of stories seem to be written by and read by women. I beta-read for more male than female authors, so I?m keenly interested to know why there appear to be so few in the wider posting population.

Or maybe I?m just looking in the wrong places? I hang out mostly in Saga. I could be completely wrong about the other eras.

I've also noticed that women seem to dominate fanfic activites--from modship to awards, to story responses, to writing. Even challenges tend to appeal to the female fanficcers. That's not to say the men are absent--there's the GWG, though it goes through crests and troughs in participation; and there's the occasional action-oriented challenge that pops up now and again. But on the whole, I wonder if we're missing something with the small representation of men. Are we seeing the world of fanfic in a particular way, and thereby missing something important?

2. GunraysLawyer

GunraysLawyer Jedi Master star 4

May 23, 2003