main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Giving charactors a believable personality: Your Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Vaders_Angel, Jun 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vaders_Angel

Vaders_Angel Jedi Youngling star 3

Jun 10, 2005
    Hi, I apologize if I placed this in the wrong forum.

I'm fairly new to writing fanfic and I was just wondering how all of you that manage to portray your charactors so realistically go about giving your charactors so much personality without actually TELLING what type of personality they have? I find that when writing my fics, trying to convey what the person is feeling without using the actual words, I fail miserably and always end up naming the emotion, which in my opnion takes away from the piece by not letting one use their imagination much. My pieces often have little to no dialogue because I try so hard to tell you what the charactor is feeling, that the storyline seems to get lost somewhere in the emotive descriptions.

ex: He felt betrayed, his anger rising to the boiling point, she cried as sorrow overtook her to the very core of her being, etc.

I've read some beautiful work here that conveys emotion wonderfully without mentioning the name of that emotion at all, and I would just like some tips on how you guys do it.

Thanks

2. LadyPadme

LadyPadme Manager Emeritus star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Sep 26, 2002

I think the axiom of 'show don't tell' is important here. In real life people don't necessarily go around saying "I'm angry" or "I'm happy" or "I'm sad" but we can often tell by other things, namely actions. If someone slams a cup down on the table and shouts, we don't need to also be told they're angry or agitated. If someone normally serious starts joking around or humming we can tell they're happy.