main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Discussion Listening to Fanfiction

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by TKeira_Lea, Feb 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TKeira_Lea

TKeira_Lea Jedi Knight star 5

Oct 10, 2002
    Recently, on the Star Wars Facebook Page, they asked fans for feedback on what they'd like. They've had a lot of response, mostly from existing fans.

As a long-time fanfiction writer I've noticed a trend in the Star Wars books where stories are diverging from what the fanfiction community in general has been creating. Granted we, as a community, are a creative bunch and our stories can run to every end of the spectrum.

There is no avoiding that the movies had to end, and with it much of the movie speculation. The deaths of Anakin Solo and Mara Jade, the fall of Jacen Solo and the muted love-life of Jaina Solo has created gaps between what fans wanted from the EU and what we've been given. In my latest blog, I suggested the Powers That Be take a closer look at fanfiction to get a better pulse of what a broader base of their fans want.

So fanficcers (readers and writers), do you feel like the EU has been going in the direction you'd like it to? What would you change?

2. Lane_Winree

Lane_Winree Jedi Master star 4

Mar 30, 2006
    My biggest problem with the current state of the EU is that it's become incredibly insular. If I didn't know any better, I'd say the entire population of the GFFA as of Fate of the Jedi consists of a half-dozen Jedi, a couple members of the Imperial Remnant, and the Big Bad of the moment. We're running out of compelling characters. The Legacy era starting with Dark Nest has been heavy on character deaths, but there's been absolutely no effort from anyone not named Aaron Allston to at least develop characters the EU can latch onto (hello Antilles girls).