main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

RL or Fan Fiction? When Real Life Experiences Inspire Fanfic

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by General_Kenobi_66, Feb 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. General_Kenobi_66

General_Kenobi_66 Jedi Knight star 3

Oct 18, 2006
    I'm fairly new to the Fan Fiction world, and I was wondering, do RL events inspire what you write? Do things that happen to you or friends occur in a similar fashon to the SW characters, whether it's AU or Inter-movie? Or is your fan fiction world a totally seperate place? Do you simply make bad things happen to them when they happen to you, or is it very detailed? (eg: You or a friend gets into a car wreck, and suddenly Anakin crashes his speeder in your fic)

For instance:

This was posted in the "You know you're a Fan Fiction Writer When..." Thread, and of course, I had to read further into it.:p So, anyone have any examples to share? And what about mood? Does that affect your writing, or what you write? Or, is it like I mentioned before, and you live and write in two different worlds?

I'd love to see opinions on either one.:)

2. JadeSolo

JadeSolo Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Sep 20, 2002
    I don't even remember saying that, but it sounds like me. [face_laugh]

Some of my stories just appear, but many were either based on something that happened, or have little tidbits that were inspired by RL. I wrote a vig about a year and a half ago about Anakin angry with the way he was viewed by the Jedi. That came directly from RL - I wanted to rant about my parents, and for some reason I started wondering if Anakin had felt the same way.

I have a short vig inspired by C3 that I'm waiting to post before I go to C4. :p

With original stories, I've had ideas inspired by college roommates, the area I grew up in, and the Awesome '80s Prom at Webster Hall in NYC. Even the JC gave me a couple ideas.