main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

The Grey Havens--Finding the Middle Ground

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by DarthIshtar, Dec 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarthIshtar

DarthIshtar Chosen One star 10

Mar 26, 2001
    Hi.

I'm a pretty angsty author who has recently dealt with the extreme opposite--full-blown mush for a month. I found that it is often very difficult to find a mid-ground between the two without it seeming kind of odd at times.

Anyone else have this problem? Anyone want to laugh at me for being so inexplicably unversatile? (Or possibly just having made up that word?)

Or, we could have an open discussion on just what that middle ground between the morbid and mushy is.

Thoughts, anyone?

2. flowerbee

flowerbee Jedi Knight star 5

Apr 29, 2004
    I, personally, hate lots of mush. I've drifted towards killing all my characters at times. (I thnk reading your stuff is influencing me)

3. dianethx

dianethx Jedi Grand Master star 6

Mar 1, 2002
    Perhaps you should define angst and mush. Sometimes they seem pretty close together.... and I have yet to figure out the difference. :p

4. Jedi_BMK

Jedi_BMK Jedi Padawan star 4

Sep 10, 2004
    This is why I take the lazy route and put my characters into enough life or death battles to avoid both most of the time. ;)

In reality, I go for something that reminds me of real life. You have the good and you have the bad. Some days things will go great and others will make you want to turn to the Dark Side. But most of the time the day will just be. How its handled depends on the character's (and author's) personality and mindset.

Mix things up. When things are looking up, send them downhill. And when things look rather bleak, give everyone a moment to catch their breath and remember the good things.