main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

The Prologue, how much should you put in a prologue?

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Briman, Oct 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Briman

Briman Jedi Padawan star 4

Oct 8, 2004
    I was just wondering, how much information should be in a prologue? Interesting question, no?

2. AramysStrael

AramysStrael Jedi Master star 4

Mar 9, 2004
    I'm no expert, and it certainly has been a long time since I checked this forum out, but I would suggest anywhere from several paragraphs to a short chapter.
    In most stories that have a prologue, it is basically that opening chapter that introduces the reader to the storyline. Think of it in context with a thesis. You start the thesis with, basically, opening up the topic with the most basic question of them all: what is this topic about. And just as the opening question of the thesis is the prologue, the conclusion of said thesis would be your epilogue. Pretty much a half-chapter to full chapter devoted to tidying things up so that you have a solid ending.
    I know this sounds like a lot of babbling, sorry. In the movies, Lucas was able to pull off the prologue with three simple sentences (the scrolling text) and that was enough for movie-viewing audiences. Readers are a different lot. So a little more detail needs to go into it. I would recommend a short chapter and just go from there.

3. VadersMistress

VadersMistress Jedi Knight star 6

Apr 7, 2004
    I agreee with Aramys. A short chapter should be fine
    and include enough information to be satisfactory.

4. JediMaster_Jen

JediMaster_Jen Force Ghost star 4

Jun 3, 2002
    As was said above, I think anything from a small paragraph to a small chapter with good detail is generally acceptable.