main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Tips & Tricks Vacuume forming vs. Fiber Glass.... discuss

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by Darthshoppingmall, Jul 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darthshoppingmall

Darthshoppingmall Jedi Youngling star 1

Apr 29, 2001
    I saw a site where someone used fiber glass to cast a mold and attached some modifications to an existing pilot helmet, and it looked pretty good, which is something I am thinking of doing. While there are others who used Vaccuum formming to do their projects. I am new to this costume thing. And was researching some, and wanted some input from the more experienced.

2. studiocreations

studiocreations Jedi Youngling star 3

Jul 18, 2000
    Fiberglass is a bit more messier, generally off-gases fumes for a few months after being made, but captures details waaaay better than vacuumforming plastic. Vacuumforming is cheaper, can crank out more parts in less time, but generally does not hold up to a beating as well as fiberglass. When deciding which technique to use to get the results you want, you have to weigh in all these factors. Alot of people find that vacuumforming is better for them due to the fumes and living in tight quarters like apartment buildings, while others love the detail they get when they use fiberglass.

Anyone else care to pipe up about the differneces of the two techniques?

3. Darthshoppingmall

Apr 29, 2001
    How big an object can you vacuume form? I want to do an object shaped like Lobots head set thing. Will it be best to do it in parts? OR can that be done in one piece?

4. studiocreations

studiocreations Jedi Youngling star 3

Jul 18, 2000
    You can vacuum form parts 12 feet by 12 feet if you have a big and powerful enough table. :)

My largest molds are usually 15 inches by 17 inches.

Lobots headset parts would be perfect for vacuum forming.

5. Lord_Gita