main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Why do you write?

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by CarrKicksDoor, Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CarrKicksDoor

CarrKicksDoor Jedi Master star 3

Jan 16, 2005
    This topic was begun some time ago with this thread: Why We Read/Write. But it dealt mostly with why we write and read fanfiction. I'm looking for something a little more broad.

This question partially came out of a discussion held in a class I'm taking called Creating the Graphic Novel. Eventually in this class, we will all have come up with a marketable Graphic Novel. The teacher, a man who has more than one publishing credit under his belt said, "I'm a professional writer. I write for money." It caused me to think, because while I always have thoughts in mind about sending this text out, or sending that text out, and am getting rejection letters back, I really hadn't considered aiming towards writing specifically for money.

But in this venue, you can't write for money. Some professional writers don't write for money either. They write for reprints. There has to be something greater. So I pose the following question to you in terms of writing in general and not merely in terms of fanfiction.

Why do you write? Do you do it to entertain others? Do you do it for yourself? Do you do it to gather awards? Do you do it to make things in books come out the way you want them to? Or do you do it because you feel the drive as the Comanches once did to simply "sit down and tell stories?"

No one will judge you, because any option is perfectly acceptable. :) So think about it. Be honest. Let's hear it.

~Carr

2. ShadowofLures

ShadowofLures Jedi Master star 3

Jul 13, 2005
    i guess i write as a release; either i'll do a private fanfic where i get rescued from my problem or i'll write how i want it to end....