main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

World History and its influence on SW

Discussion in 'Star Wars Saga In-Depth' started by JediHPDrummer, Mar 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JediHPDrummer

JediHPDrummer Jedi Grand Master star 3

Mar 23, 2002
    Hey guys, i'm a history buff and my major is world history. And in Star Wars, i see so many influences on star wars. I love how George can make adolf hitler, caeser seem like palpatine and ancient rome, Nazism like the republic to a dictatorship. In history, it repeats itself and their are running themes in history that whenever something happens this happens. So I want to get a good discussion about History and Star wars.
    Here's my 2 cents

the fall of the galactic republic is about the same as the fall of the roman republic to julius caeser. The Senate in Rome was unstable when the roman republic was starting to fall. They couldn't solve anything, so what they would do is just send a person to go deal with it and then after that they would want ultimate power a dictator, and to be a dictator you would have to have sympathy from people, the plebians (the poor). Julius Caeser and Palpatine go on a very similar journey. Julius Caeser started as a young army general who teamed up with pompey and Crassus who all wanted to overthrow the senate and take over.