main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

JCC Senate So I'm thinking about taking online college

Discussion in 'Community' started by AutumnLight91, Oct 31, 2023.

1. AutumnLight91

AutumnLight91 Jedi Grand Master star 5

Jun 17, 2018
    So yeah, thinking of getting an online associates degree in creative writing, probably from Liberty University.

But for those who have ever done online classes, what is it like? I know it is different from each school ti school, but how is it? How's workload, schedule, doing it while full time working, etc.

2. Todd the Jedi

Todd the Jedi Mod and Loving Tyrant of SWTV, Lit, & Collecting star 6 Staff Member Manager

Oct 16, 2008
    College- great!
    Liberty University- terrible!

try something like this. They have creative writing courses.

3. anakinfansince1983

anakinfansince1983 Skywalker Saga/LFL/YJCC Manager star 10 Staff Member Manager

Mar 4, 2011
    I got my masters degree online. It was great for me since I needed the flexibility as I had two young kids at home. Some courses are self-paced and some are not, so pay attention to deadlines—you will literally get locked out of content on many online platforms if you miss a deadline the professor sets. I (obviously) enjoy talking to people on online message boards so that aspect was great. I learned how to use Skype (this was before Discord and other video chat platforms) to interact with my classmates for group work. I was not working full time then but many of my classmates were.

My experience is that the workload is not any heavier. You might end up watching a video lecture from a professor instead of going into a building to listen to a lecture.

4. Ghost

Ghost Chosen One star 8

Oct 13, 2003
    Really look into the loans.

Public university may be better, most since COVID now have virtual options.

And I have only heard bad things about Liberty University.

Lowbacca_1977 likes this.
  5. Bor Mullet