main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Databank of galactic Systems to render galactic Maps in detail

Discussion in 'Archive: Fan Sites' started by daquilla, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daquilla

daquilla Jedi Youngling

Oct 2, 2002
    I just can't get this idea out of my head ... hope this fits here ...

First I think I have to state, that I'm no programer. I've only done some minor programing tasks while studying elektronics ... the biggest was to create a 3-D Rendering Pipeline that would read polygons out of a txt file with certain order and paint the objects these polygons form with a lighteffect, painting line by line of each polygon ... but that was done in a 3-man team a long time ago :) ... I also don't have much free time to go after this dream at the moment :( ... and I'm german, so exsqueeze me for the bad english you might encounter in this rather long post.

Now ... what I'd like to see is a detailed map of the whole Star Wars Galaxy like this regional view of the Eldood Sector and it's neighbouring sectors. And I have an idea of how to save and generate all the information to get this, and several other map-styles.

This Hexagon-Style map is really nothing else than a 2-D Table you can create with Excel ... only that every second colomn is slid down half a box ... so the idea would be to break down the whole galaxy into boxes in a 2-D Table ... and save the necesary information to each "region" ... infromation that you would need to "render" a galactic map in several detail-levels or even in 3-D ... so it's about creating a Databank of the galaxy ... Calculating the space used for the elrood sector compared up to other maps of the galaxy gives an over the thumb value of 500x500 boxes for the whole galaxy, if you want to stay with the detail level of the Hexagon Map