main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Totally new to CG Modeling, PLEASE help

Discussion in 'Archive: Scifi 3D Forum' started by rogue606, May 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rogue606

rogue606 Jedi Youngling

May 5, 2004
    Hey guys. great forum you guys have here.

I am currently going to get into 3d modeling, for a $45,000 Fan Film. I need to do all the modeling and sequences on my own. I REALLY need to learn how, because I have very good skills with a pc, I am a video editor in profession, I have just never done 3d editing. I recently bought 3Dstudio Max, and I guess, what I'm asking is that:

Do any of you know what book/books are good to use to find out about starwars-type modeling. What i really want to do is make a space sequence with a couple star-fighter models that I see here. Also, if there are any free tutorials for beginners on how to do this, please send a link.

Thank you for your time.

2. Dr. Jones

Dr. Jones Jedi Padawan star 4

Feb 6, 2000
    YOU BOUGHT 3DS MAX WHILE YOU HAD NEVER USED IT !!!!???

3. rogue606

rogue606 Jedi Youngling

May 5, 2004
    Well, i have used it a bit before to make environments to later do in green and blue screen, but never for actual star wars space sequences. I know what your thinking, $3,500 is a lot, and it is, but i got it for the student price, of i think it was around $750.

4. PapaFett

PapaFett Jedi Youngling star 2

Nov 16, 2002
    MMMM-HMMMM

Well this exact thread has been posted countless times here... not trying to be a jerk, but a simple search could get you all this info and much more.

5. bobabert

bobabert Jedi Youngling star 2

Dec 24, 2002
    Hum hi!!
    I think you can't learn 3D in one week (or one month), it take a long time to make something preatty good...

6. Darth_Steven

Darth_Steven Jedi Youngling star 2

Jul 14, 2002
    Hey Rogue,